He finds gee overpriced and shite.
If he finds shite, maybe he should be looking somewhere else?
Thinking of heading Wicklow/Wexford direction with wife and 13 month old baby? Any suggestions? Stayed in Kelly’s in Rosslare years ago andit seemed nice. Any other suggestions for a baby friendly spot outside Cork/Waterford/midlands welcome
Amber Springs Hotel in Gorey is very child friendly apparently. Only an hour from South Dublin. Brook Lodge in Aughrim is supposed to be very nice too but not idea how child friendly it is.
The G and the House Hotel are both pretty effeminate but that is perhaps a good thing. The House is very central, your tucked away in behind Quay Street and the Spanish Arch.The Pillo Hotel is similar to those I believe but I’ve never been in it, you’d be talking taxi’s going with that, The G or the Connacht which is further out still.
Steer clear of The Park House, it’s strictly for upper crust farmer types like @Boxtyeater.
Radissonn, Jurys and the Harbour on the Docks are usually safe bets while the Forster Court is a little under-rated.
No harm in checking the Meryick rates, they might have decent offers going that time of year. Bar the Ardilaun, the Salthill Hotels should be reasonably priced too that time of year, you’d be talking taxis again though
[QUOTE=“TheUlteriorMotive, post: 1015105, member: 2272”]Are lads from Galway less likely to have stayed in hotels in Galway or more likely?
I’d say I’d have stayed in 6 or 7 various hotels in Galway for one reason or another down through the years.
Seafield is supposedly a lovely hotel.
Tis nice alright. Not much to do with kids there though apart from go digging holes in a golf course
[QUOTE=“Lazarus, post: 1015211, member: 286”]The G and the House Hotel are both pretty effeminate but that is perhaps a good thing. The House is very central, your tucked away in behind Quay Street and the Spanish Arch.The Pillo Hotel is similar to those I believe but I’ve never been in it, you’d be talking taxi’s going with that, The G or the Connacht which is further out still.
Steer clear of The Park House, it’s strictly for upper crust farmer types like @Boxtyeater.
Radissonn, Jurys and the Harbour on the Docks are usually safe bets while the Forster Court is a little under-rated.
No harm in checking the Meryick rates, they might have decent offers going that time of year. Bar the Ardilaun, the Salthill Hotels should be reasonably priced too that time of year, you’d be talking taxis again though
I’d say I’d have stayed in 6 or 7 various hotels in Galway for one reason or another down through the years.[/QUOTE]
Avoid the Pillo mate, a soulless cunt of a spot and depending on where your room is noise from traffic could be an issue. Then again if the headboard is frantically smashing against the drywall this may not be an issue for you.
[LIST]
[]The House Hotel for location
[]Raddisson for top notch service and decent location
[]Salthill hotel for romance and top service, highly recommended but not central.
[]Kinlay House for perverse activity with interrailers
[]Any of the College road B&B’s for swinging
[]The Eglington Hotel for a bit of everything.
[/LIST]
The galway bay has a lovely walk into town, whereas the ardilaun has a poxy walk in.
East Cork.
[QUOTE=“Lazarus, post: 1015211, member: 286”]The G and the House Hotel are both pretty effeminate but that is perhaps a good thing. The House is very central, your tucked away in behind Quay Street and the Spanish Arch.The Pillo Hotel is similar to those I believe but I’ve never been in it, you’d be talking taxi’s going with that, The G or the Connacht which is further out still.
I’d say I’d have stayed in 6 or 7 various hotels in Galway for one reason or another down through the years.[/QUOTE]
Is the G Hotel not ridiculously expensive?
Foynes is a lovely spot for a weekend break
The Shannon House Hotel has some good offers at the moment too.
It’s a handy base too as you are only 20 minutes from Newcastlewest, 15 minutes from Glin and 25 minutes to Athea.
[QUOTE=“TreatyStones, post: 1017499, member: 1786”]The Shannon House Hotel has some good offers at the moment too.
It’s a handy base too as you are only 20 minutes from Newcastlewest, 15 minutes from Glin and 25 minutes to Athea.[/QUOTE]
not to mention a short spin from shanagolden
3 star service in a 3 star location.
Grand for an overnight business trip.
[QUOTE=“Kinvara’s Passion, post: 1022507, member: 686”]3 star service in a 3 star location.
Grand for an overnight business trip.[/QUOTE]
Not really what I’m looking for. Looking for something for a weekend away with herself that won’t break the bank.
You’d know that things are on the turn given the price of the hotels at the moment compared to 18 months ago.
[QUOTE=“TreatyStones, post: 1022508, member: 1786”]Not really what I’m looking for. Looking for something for a weekend away with herself that won’t break the bank.
You’d know that things are on the turn given the price of the hotels at the moment compared to 18 months ago.[/QUOTE]
Try the place in Barna
[QUOTE=“TreatyStones, post: 1022508, member: 1786”]Not really what I’m looking for. Looking for something for a weekend away with herself that won’t break the bank.
You’d know that things are on the turn given the price of the hotels at the moment compared to 18 months ago.[/QUOTE]
Definitely not The Menlo so lad.
The Tweleve in Barna as @Mac suggested or the The Salthill Hotel also.
It’s too far out from the City Center.