The Official Irish Times Best Places to Holiday in Ireland Thread

Ah yeah but you’d be in a shit hole. :grinning:

I wouldn’t fancy being West of Dingle for a shitty weather week but you’d be grand in town.

That’s the one. There’s a beach near Glencolmcille in Donegal that is nicer again but it takes about a half an hour to get from when you leave the car down endless steps to get to. Some spot when you reach it though (Malin beg)

I’d spot you a few quid to join the lads on the Monday club if you ever do

Anyone here stay in Harvey’s Point before ?

Why? Are you planning on buying it :smile:

Yeah a few years ago now. V nice. Lovely food. We got nice weather which helped

I’m thinking of spending the weekend in Blarney. I’ve never been there and want a base reasonably close to Mallow for the races on Sunday. Otherwise would just head down to west Cork. Will have the woman with me. Would I be mad staying in Blarney lads? How many pubs there? Don’t really want to stay in the city. @gilgamboa @mickee321

There’s nothing in Blarney, don’t waste your money.

Amen to this. I’ve been there a lot over the last few years. Aside from a walk round the park, the place is shit. Don’t visit. is there a cheap deal in the big hotel or something?

Is there a concentration of vending machines in Blarney?

Yes, indeed. A yorkie is the collective term for vending machines.

Waste of time. Nothing there and still 35 mins to racecourse from there. You would be in kinsale in another 30 mins but prob no accom there at this stage

fucks sake

:blush:

@Fagan_ODowd or anybody else with knowledge. Myself and the missus are heading to Ardmore for the night during the week, we’ll probably eat dinner and drink in the hotel but wondering if there’s anything of note in the locality or on the drive from Limerick to pass a few hours on either of the days. Anywhere to guarantee a nice post in the outstanding scenery thread?
Perhaps a nice lunch spot as well.

@Fagan_ODowd is the man to sort this out for you bud

Lismore, Mt Melleray and the Vee Gap all within easy reach for a 30 mile spin. Dungarvan for lunch, the Tannery. The Deise greenway is lovely at the Dungarvan end. Get on at Darrow and walk.

The Ring Gaeltacht and Helvick are very close as well.

West Waterford food festival is starting this week too.

Avoid Youghal like the plague.

Down in castleconnell at the moment with OH and madame.

Limerick lads, is johns castle worth a trip, and is there anything else ye’d recommend?

Cc @balbec

Haven’t been in years but supposed to be very good after a recent investment. In a similar vein Bunratty Castle & folk park is a good day out too.