The Official Irish Times Best Places to Holiday in Ireland Thread

Spin out to Killaloe

Go to king johns castle its well put together the tour. Bunratty is amateur in comparison. Did both inside the last three months.

Did you go racing yday

The falls of Doonass @Big_Dan_Campbell

I did yeah it was OK. I ticked it off now but I don’t think its the best course. Was no real atmosphere there. The bar set up was chaotic/ridiculous. They ran out of change. 4-5 of them standing over a Heineken tap with a 14-15yr old pulling the pint wrong without tilting glass so with all head on the pints. Stupid stuff, amateur.

The pet farm is good for a stroll and great views. Obviously better with kids but very close by.

Great spot - food is fantastic. Missus still rates it as her best stay in Ireland. You won’t regret a stop there. Noel Cunningham may even be there to entertain you. Solis Lough Eske more modern but Harvey’s better.

Thanks fagan, I’ve followed your advice almost religiously, just up on Mellaray now. Fucking scouts have fires everywhere :rage:
Dungarvan is a nice little town, festival kicking off this afternoon seems good if anyone is in the area. The Tannery is lovely.

Heading to west Clare at the end of the month for a few days. Will be based near Doonbeg.

Can any of the natives mark my card? The cliffs of Moher and Fr Ted’s house will be high on the agenda as will a short hop over to the Aran Islands. Will have the 2 kids with me so will be family orientated.

I don’t play golf btw.

Depending on the kids age the Ailwee Caves are well worth a call . Fenore is lovely for a walk .

Fanore

The nicest beaches are Spanish point , doughmore behind the golf club in doonbeg and lahinch. The drive along the cliffs from kilkee out to loophead is impressive as is fanore. Doolin is worth a visit for lunch. Along with cliffs of moher and ailwee caves you can go dolphin watching from carrigaholt or kilrush. Morriseys in doonbeg is a top notch for dinner.

@fistoffury has it well covered there, there’s a little museum experience at the lighthouse on Loop Head that’s grand to kill an hour or two. There’s plenty surf/kayak/paddleboard schools between Spanish Point and Lahinch to tire out the sprogs. There’s a little open farm near the Cliffs if you want to give them a roaster experience, and the Rock Shop there is a grand place to stop too.

Tell me more please. Sounds good.

http://www.moherfarm.com/
Full disclosure - I haven’t actually been there myself but I hear it’s a grand spot

Take a spin in to kilfenora, see the high crosses and the old cathedral then up to the Flaggy shore

The birds of prey thing at the caves is very good . Make sure you get there for one of the displays, the children will love it.

Jaysus lads ye’re sending this poor fella way up north.
There’s not a whole pile in the Doonbeg area if you haven’t got great weather, I’ll third the birds of prey but the caves themselves are rubbish.

I’ve never stayed around Doonbeg but I like to get to west Clare twice a year. I’m fond of Miltown Malbay. Lovely quiet musical area with a good few pubs and smashing beaches nearby at White Strand and Spanish point. Most importantly its bereft of the tourists you’ll get around Doolin and cliffs of Moher. You just get locals really enjoying their slow pace of life. They’ve got it sussed there. Hillary’s is a nice pub in the town, they’re related to the former president Paddy Hillary.

I’d avoid the Cliffs of Moher personally it’s become horribly commercialised and will be thronged with bus after bus of tourists. You can’t throw the car at the side of the road and tip in you have to use a car park which is how they nab you.

Father Ted house worth a visit but beware its the hardest thing in the world to find.

Cheers for all the advice gents.

@Smark, I’ve seen the Cliffs of Moher, but the missus hasn’t so we have to go.

As for the Fr Ted house, she has a friend in Derrybrien near Gort that we will be dropping by to see. The house looks near enough to there and was hoping to fit it in along the way.