The Official Nottingham Forest šŸŒ³ Supporters Thread

That Matt Derbyshire is a bit of an attention seeking cunt isnt he?

We still have a chance here. Brighton are 6th and weā€™re gone 7th with 2 games to play. We play Brighton at the City Ground in the last game of the season but before that we have a tough assignment away to Bournmouth, themselves only 3 points off 6th whereas Blackpool are at home to relegated Yeovil. Itā€™s a fighting chance whatever else and Brazil has finally found a bit of flow now with the young lads so who the fuck knows.

[QUOTE=ā€œLazarus, post: 934698, member: 286ā€]Forest well on top but need to be careful now that Greening is on for Vaughan. Vaughan is a class act all the way but only capable of 60 minutes with his injury. Well impressed with McLaughlin, brilliant play for the 1st goal. Osborn too had impressed and Derbyshire has been a revelation under Brazil.
I see the usual Leeds loudmouth apologists @Mac[/USER] and [USER=1137]@chewy louie have gone very quiet all of a sudden, quelle surprise![/QUOTE]

Weā€™re planning for next season now. If you couldnā€™t beat Leeds in their current state then youā€™d want to just throw your hat at it.

Always good to beat Leeds, my boss is a big fan, as are half the taxi drivers in Cork. Very loyal fans Iā€™ll give ye that much. Pessimistic as fuck though :smiley:

Whatā€™s impressed me most about Gary Brazil is his willingness to gamble - whether it be on Derbyshire or the young blood. Throwing in Osborn in recent weeks and McLaughlin today was a breath of fresh air. Davies the cunt wouldnā€™t darken the academyā€™s door, I thought McLaughlin would never get a game. Evtimov did well today also on his debut, although I felt Collins and Lascelles gave him good protection.

To his credit, Derbyshire has been good and shown huge enthusiasm in every game heā€™s played under Brazil. Last time I saw him was against Wednesday, he made some good runs off the ball that night and was unlucky to have a shot cleared off the line. I get the feeling from watching him that heā€™s an all or nothing player. When heā€™s down he can be awful but when he gets that bit of confidence he wears his heart on his sleeve and can be a bit of a jack the lad and downright cocky. Every striker needs to show that kind of arrogance. Took his goals well again today. Is that 6 goals from 7 starts this season? Itā€™s a better return than Cox or Hendo have anyway. Although I feel the latter could still have a massive part to play yet in the final two games.

Looking at the fixtures left it is Forest and Burnley who will decide who get 6th spot

Stuart Pearce is being interviewed on Talksport now. Fascinating listening to him.

7 players released today by the club

http://m.bbc.com/sport/football/27587575

Nottingham Forest have released seven first-team players whose contracts expire this summer.
The Reds, who appoint Stuart Pearce as manager on 1 July, have parted company with midfielders Guy Moussi, Jonathan Greening and Simon Gillett.
Defender Gonzalo Jara, plus forwards Matt Derbyshire, Marcus Tudgay and Ishmael Miller also leave the club.
ā€œI would like to thank the supporters for the backing they gave me,ā€ Greening told the club website.

That should significantly free up the wage bill. Miller was on a crazy 17k a week and Greening 15k. The last few remnants of Schteeve McClarenā€™s disaster spell.

Myself and our European Cup winning captain John McGovern after the last game of the season.

[ATTACH=full]1292[/ATTACH]

[QUOTE="Gary Birtles Lovechild, post: 950816, member: 2585"That should significantly free up the wage bill. Miller was on a crazy 17k a week and Greening 15k. The last few remnants of Schteeve McClarenā€™s disaster spell.[/QUOTE]
Funny thing I found was lads on here declaring McClaren a serious manager on account of what he did with Derby. He took over Nigel Cloughs team and got found out when it counted most which was generally par for the course with his whole career, making a name for himself on the shoulders of others and imploding because of his chuminess with his favourite players. Heā€™s the English Mick Mcarthty

Funny thing about McClaren you had lads on here declaring him a top manager on account of what he did with Derby. He took over Nigel Cloughs team and got found out when it counted most which was generally par for the course with his whole career, making a name for himself on the shoulders of others and imploding because of his chuminess with his favourite players. Heā€™s the English Mick Mcarthty

Hard to know how good/bad McClaren really is. Heā€™s had tremendous success at Middlesbrough, Twente and Derby, but failed miserably with England, Wolfsburg and Forest - the key to his successes was the lack of expectation at the former three clubs, and the huge expectations at the latter teams. When the pressure was on, he cracked. It will be very interesting to see how he does with Derby next season, given the raised expectation levels that will accompany them after their near miss this season past.

For me there were two main reasons for his failing at Forest - firstly he tried to change too much too fast, his approach was very continental and nothing that the players were used to. His methods playing out from the back didnā€™t suit the type of defenders we had at the time. Getting players to constantly run into space is another tactic that guys would fall down on. Secondly, we just didnā€™t make enough signings in the summer of 2011. Reid, Boateng, Miller, Greening and Derbyshire. Only Reid has turned out to be a good buy, a great buy even. The others were expensive flops - maybe thatā€™s a bit harsh on Boateng, but he certainly didnā€™t set the world alight. We went into the season totally ill-prepared with a poor midfield and no consistent striker of note. It took Sean Oā€™Driscoll coming in as Cotterillā€™s first team coach to save us that season.

[QUOTE=ā€œGary Birtles Lovechild, post: 950875, member: 2585ā€]Hard to know how good/bad McClaren really is. Heā€™s had tremendous success at Middlesbrough, Twente and Derby, but failed miserably with England, Wolfsburg and Forest - the key to his successes was the lack of expectation at the former three clubs, and the huge expectations at the latter teams. When the pressure was on, he cracked. It will be very interesting to see how he does with Derby next season, given the raised expectation levels that will accompany them after their near miss this season past.

For me there were two main reasons for his failing at Forest - firstly he tried to change too much too fast, his approach was very continental and nothing that the players were used to. His methods playing out from the back didnā€™t suit the type of defenders we had at the time. Getting players to constantly run into space is another tactic that guys would fall down on. Secondly, we just didnā€™t make enough signings in the summer of 2011. Reid, Boateng, Miller, Greening and Derbyshire. Only Reid has turned out to be a good buy, a great buy even. The others were expensive flops - maybe thatā€™s a bit harsh on Boateng, but he certainly didnā€™t set the world alight. We went into the season totally ill-prepared with a poor midfield and no consistent striker of note. It took Sean Oā€™Driscoll coming in as Cotterillā€™s first team coach to save us that season.[/QUOTE]
McClaren led poor Nigel Doughty to an early death. Everything McClaren did though reeked of utter cluelessness,( bar obviously the resigning of Reid but that was more to to with David Pleat and even Andy only really got going once Schteve had been axed). Heā€™s media career has been salvaged by Derbys poxy run this year so mission accomplished as far as heā€™s concerned

Btw of all the lads released the only one who gave the club any genuine service was Derbyshire and even that was only in the last few months of his contract. It would have been nice to hold on to him but heā€™s probably gotten a bit big for his boots maybe. Jara had his moments too I suppose but way too inconsistent. Good riddance to the rest. Building on to the likes of Pato, Lascelles and Darlow(Mourihno reported to be snooping around there now) as well as adding a striker is the key now. Oh, and THE MAJORITY OF THE FIRST TEAM NOT GETTING FUCKING INJURED ALL AT ONCE would be nice as well.

Solely down to Davies training methods, he ran them too hard from what people in the club are saying.

So our first team of the new season looks like this
[SIZE=4]Nottingham Forest[/SIZE]
[LIST]
[]01 Darlow
[
]04 Mancienne
[]03 Harding
[
]17 Hunt
[]13 Fox
[
]18 Antonio
[]08 Cohen
[
]11 Reid
[]27 Burke
[
]07 Fryatt
[]09 Assombalonga
[/LIST]
[SIZE=3]Substitutes[/SIZE]
[LIST]
[
]02 Lichaj
[]14 Veldwjik
[
]21 Paterson
[]25 Hobbs
[
]29 de Vries
[]30 McLaughlin
[
]38 Osborn
[/LIST]
Looks like 2 strikers so expect a hatful opf goals today
No sign of Kelvin, he must be crocked altogether. No Lansbury either, looks like heā€™s off to Burnley the mug. A definite loss however unlime Cox and Mackie who both signed for Reading today, (macie on loan).
COYR:clap:

Is Danny Fox playing as a centre back today?

Anybody know where I could get one of the '78 forest jerseys ?

The most beautiful jersey known to man. eBay is your friend.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4u8ClS43VO8

[QUOTE=ā€œLazarus, post: 997237, member: 286ā€]
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4u8ClS43VO8

http://www3.pictures.zimbio.com/gi/Nottingham+Forest+v+Blackpool+qzaA5tReWLCx.jpg[/QUOTE]
Beautiful. Thank you for that Lazarus