You are very much mistaken if you think I hold any animosity towards Forest, in fact Iāve always had a soft spot for them. My issue is with that utter charlatan Reid and how heās pricking around the Club and its fans, and it completely baffles me that fans canāt see this for themselves. So feel free to have all the pops you like, but you are as always misplacing your ire. Its Pearce I feel sorry for, lumped with that prick, he would have been better off showing him the door and getting rid of the distraction that he has become.
Backed them at 22/1 to go down.
Youāve thrown money down the drain. Now that Pearce has gone, Freedman has the capability, and the players, to steady the ship.
I like Forest as much as the next man and Iād be delighted to see them stay up but as degenerate gambles go on this site itās as good a bet as any. Team 5 points above the drop zone after taking 6 points out of the last 30. The other point would be Freedman himself. If he is such a capable manger how come he is free to take this job.
from speaking to my man in the ground most forest fans arevup in arms at the sacking of Pearce without the involvement of the board and if Freedman doesnāt hit the ground running the fans are going to be on his case straight away.
Plans to chant Pearceās name three minutes into the next game should make Freedman feel welcome
We are 7 points above the drop zone. Yes we have been very poor since November, but we showed plenty of decent form between August and October, even if not playing very well in many game. We have two of the top 6 scorers in the division. The defence needs tightening up no doubt. I believe Freedman can sort this.
Freedman has saved both Palace and Bolton from the drop in recent seasons, he took Bolton from 20th position in December to 7th in May in 2013. In the grander scheme of things, he is at best an average manager. Donāt think heās the man to take us up, but right now itās about steadying the ship and he is a proven performer at doing this. He contract is only until the end of the season anyway so I donāt think Fawaz sees him as a long term candidate.
[QUOTE=āGary Birtles Lovechild, post: 1085649, member: 2585ā]Injuries hampered us to an extent yes but they donāt explain the general awfulness of our play these past three months. Or the total lack of a plan on the pitch.
Just seen this on the Daily Telegraph:
Fawaz ignoring and working against his CEO doesnāt bode well, why bother hiring one in the first place if youāre going to constantly undermine him?!
Iām amazed MacAnthony did business with us again after the George Boyd debacle. He must absolutely detest us by now! Our image is being damaged by these late payments shite. I donāt think Iād want to deal with Forest if I was the CEO of another club. Not worth the hassle.[/QUOTE]
The Pearce sacking was inevitable, a bit sad to be honest, I really thought he would succeed and really wanted him to. I donāt know much about Dougie (his time at Forest was during my time in the wilderness) but from what you say Gary, he seems to be the right man now.
But far more importantly and far more worrying, is what is outlined in the Daily Telegraph article. We are basically at a point where no other football club will deal with us, we have serious restrictions on who we can sign anyway, we need players. Every one of the players we have will be talking to their agents furiously trying to find a way out. Itās clearly getting to the point where they wonāt get paid.
On top of this, I reckon the Football League will take action and impose sanctions on the club, seeing as we have no money, this will inevitably lead to points reduction. In which case @Fagan ODowd will be making a tidy sum. Our next gameās against Brighton. They might even fucking beat us.
We Forest supporters must have done bad bad things in previous lives. My avatar is the A-League football team Iām a member of and support over here. We could go under at any minute, Iām not sure if the club will even exist in 2-3 years time, such is the state the Mariners are in. On top of that, Forest are falling apart.
Gary, there 4.5 million pounds up for grabs in the first Forest Lotto draw for February (itās a roll over!) - have you got your tickets? Iām expecting the next headline to be āFawaz under scrutiny as Lotto money goes missingā.
[QUOTE=āFitzy, post: 1086078, member: 236ā]The Pearce sacking was inevitable, a bit sad to be honest, I really thought he would succeed and really wanted him to. I donāt know much about Dougie (his time at Forest was during my time in the wilderness) but from what you say Gary, he seems to be the right man now.
But far more importantly and far more worrying, is what is outlined in the Daily Telegraph article. We are basically at a point where no other football club will deal with us, we have serious restrictions on who we can sign anyway, we need players. Every one of the players we have will be talking to their agents furiously trying to find a way out. Itās clearly getting to the point where they wonāt get paid.
On top of this, I reckon the Football League will take action and impose sanctions on the club, seeing as we have no money, this will inevitably lead to points reduction. In which case @Fagan ODowd will be making a tidy sum. Our next gameās against Brighton. They might even fucking beat us.
We Forest supporters must have done bad bad things in previous lives. My avatar is the A-League football team Iām a member of and support over here. We could go under at any minute, Iām not sure if the club will even exist in 2-3 years time, such is the state the Mariners are in. On top of that, Forest are falling apart.
Gary, there 4.5 million pounds up for grabs in the first Forest Lotto draw for February (itās a roll over!) - have you got your tickets? Iām expecting the next headline to be āFawaz under scrutiny as Lotto money goes missingā.[/QUOTE]
I agree entirely with your sentiments Fitzy, and Fawaz only has himself to blame for fucking clubs and agents over through non-payment. I actually believe thereās a good chance he will take us into administration. Like you say, who will want to do business with us!
Dougie Freedman. Football Genius.
Britt out for 12 months. Ruptured patella tendon. I pray for the lads sake he comes back as good as ever next year, heās the best thing that happened to football in over 30 years
@Fagan ODowdās bet just got a lil more interesting. Hopefully Andy will be back shortly, thats a fierce nigglesome injury he has.
These are heady days for Forest fans knowing they wonāt be relegated and are safe from the playoffs and to celebrate here is a Sunday evening treat for everyone. Feet up? Camomile tea at hand? Lovely. Kick back and enjoy the Dougie Freedman show. Highlights of his 4 games in the big seat with all 14 goals, including, alas, Assombolongas 15th and final goal this season against Wigan.
Forest 4-1 Bolton
[MEDIA=dailymotion]x2hton8[/MEDIA]
Blackpool 4-4 Forest
[MEDIA=dailymotion]x2h8tpn[/MEDIA]
Forest 3-0 Wigan
[MEDIA=dailymotion]x2h0sbo[/MEDIA]
Brighton 2-3 Forest
[MEDIA=dailymotion]x2gp9ip[/MEDIA]
Since this post Forest have
5 Wins out of Six
16 Points from a possible 18
Scored 19 Goals
Let in 8 goals
- 11 Goal Difference
85% Win Ratio
Now put that in your pipe and smoke it @Fagan ODowd
Dougie Friedman Football Genius:clap:
[SIZE=6]DOUGIE FREEDMAN: 4-3-3 SYSTEM[/SIZE]
SHARE ON:
http://0.gravatar.com/avatar/a2796d29ea4058f1e345f3b842a1ceaf?s=48&d=http%3A%2F%2F0.gravatar.com%2Favatar%2Fad516503a11cd5ca435acc9bb6523536%3Fs%3D48&r=G TAKTIEK[/URL] ā [URL=āhttp://taktiek.uk/dougie-freedmans-4-3-3/ā]FEBRUARY 26, 2015
http://taktiek.uk/wp-content/uploads/2015/02/dougie-freedman-cropped_1cj2zutxo3sr21shf2r6pppvqe-1063x641.jpg
Nottingham Forest have seen a turnaround in form since the return of Dougie Freedman to the City Ground with four wins and a draw in his first five games, in this piece I take a look at what is making Forest so successful under Freedman in his first few games.
Freedman has set up a system with a general shape of a 4-3-3 (or 4-5-1) that allows the four ahead of the sitting midfielder Gardner to show creativity and be the teams main threat going forward but also allows them to quickly move into a defensive shape.
http://taktiek.uk/wp-content/uploads/2015/02/Nottingham-Forest-4-3-3.png
Gary Gardner Role
The cog of the team. Without Gardner this system would simply crumble and leave huge gaps for teams to attack. His job is simple, when Forest have possession, collect the ball from the central defenders and distribute it forward to any of the midfield four ahead of him or wide to the full-backs. Without possession ā sit in-front of the back four, follow the opposition no.10 and cover the wide areas when on the back foot from opposition counter attacks.
You need to be disciplined to do this role correctly, a role which was perfected by Paul McKenna during the 09/10 season and Gardner is following in his footsteps. It is tempting for a midfielder to go on a marauding run forward, but Gardner sits in the hole and protects his defenders. Despite having the talent of midfielders like Tesche & Vaughan that can play in a defensive midfielder role, I donāt believe either would be able to provide the discipline Gardner can.
The role is incredibly simple but incredibly effective, it gives the license to Antonio, Burke, Lansbury & Osborn to bomb forward and be the creative force of the team. The midfield players ahead of him know they can neglect their defensive responsibilities and take more risks high up the pitch. If Gardner was not in this position ā it restricts them from taking the risks, as they know one risky pass could leave the team wide open.
http://taktiek.uk/wp-content/uploads/2015/02/gardner.gif
Gary Gardner plays the ball to the Chris Burke ahead of him who has found space from his movement.
The Antonio Threat
In Michail Antonioās first interview at Forest he was asked what he would bring to the Forest side, and he said āPace, power and goalsā. Never have I heard such an accurate observation. Thatās exactly what he brings and is a full-backs worst nightmare.
Antonio isnāt given a huge defensive responsibility in this side, his job is to get the ball and use his pace and power to run at people. He is incredibly dangerous when given the ball deep with space to run into as players struggle to beat him for strength or pace. He is the biggest attacking option in this side as he gives an outlet of carrying the ball from one end of the pitch to the other quickly.
Antonioās strengths can also be a weakness though, as Antonio is often slow to get back to help his fullback in a defensive capacity and if Forest come up against a side with a marauding wing-back, Danny Fox will often find himself in a 2-on-1 situation. However, itās often a tactic teams do not use against Forest ā because they know Antonioās threat. Derby are known for having fullbacks high up the pitch and act as an extra man when attacking, but both times against Forest the fullbacks were reluctant to get forward because they knew of Antonioās threat when receiving the ball with space to run into.
http://taktiek.uk/wp-content/uploads/2015/02/Michail-Antonio-Danger-Zone-1024x536.png
Gary Gardner wins a 50/50 in midfield and Bolton left Antonio with too much space to run into.
Below are two examples in which Michail Antonio shows the attacking ability he possesses as he picks the ball up from deep with space to run into and just powers through opposition players to create goals.
http://taktiek.uk/wp-content/uploads/2015/02/antonio-2.gif
Antonio is given a huge amount of space by Bolton to run into and he scores an incredible goal.
http://taktiek.uk/wp-content/uploads/2015/02/antonio.gif
Antonio uses his power to get past two Wigan players and play a defensive splitting pass.
Lansbury & Osborn
The engine of the team. Both players are responsible for covering ground in the middle of the pitch and getting as much support to the Striker Blackstock who holds the ball up and brings players into the game. In Freedmanās first few games, Forest have burst a gut to get into the box. When the ball is out wide, you would often find three, four or five players running into the box ā this creates luck simply due to the amount of bodies in the box. For months I have watched Forest get forward with just an isolated striker in the box ā we now have midfield runners in Osborn and Lansbury, they are both getting in the box and offering the extra man inside the penalty area.
With Gardner sitting in just behind both and protecting the back four, the middle of the pitch is theirs. It gives the players a platform as both are given a free role to move around and constantly rotate between each other, giving more options to players on the ball and making both harder to be marked out the game. The rotation makes the system more fluid, and allows Lansbury in particular to find pockets of space.
http://taktiek.uk/wp-content/uploads/2015/02/Osborn-Lansbury-Heatmap.png
Heatmap of Lansbury & Osbornās touches during all three home matches.
Lansbury has now got 7 goals in 7 games, bagging in every game since Freedman has arrived. The Scot deemed Lansbury as a suitable captain as Jack Hobbs limped off against Blackpool ā and this added responsibility is letting him flourish in the center of midfield. In top form, Lansbury is one of the most dangerous midfielders in the Championship ā his form has been hit and miss this year but with the ability to go forward and act as a no.10 in a free role, Lansbury will surely hit some consistency now.
Conclusion
Freedman has taken Forest back to basics, organizing the side defensively and given them a platform to work from. Gary Gardner sitting in-front of the defense allows the talented, creative players go forward with more freedom and with 16 goals in his first 5 games ā the talent Forest have is shining through. The fluid system is helping the players pass the ball on the ground more ā giving the person on the ball more options to pass too.
Jack Hobbs, Andy Reid, Chris Cohen and Britt Assombalonga ā probably Forestās best four players are all still injured long-term. The most promising thing I have seen is Forest have finally found a formula to perform without Andy Reid in the team ā something managers have struggled with in the past.
New manager bounce? Who knows ā but the players have been given a platform to perform from and everybody is playing in natural positions. No square pegs in round holes and the team as a whole is benefiting from it. The most important thing is Forest have found a way to win matches without an over-reliance on Andy Reid.
This is fucking awesome Charlton up next.
Great to see Gardner fulfil some of his potential. He had a tough time of it with 2 cruciate injuries in 3 seasons before he was 22. He will be well battle hardened and ready for villas assault on the the championship next year.
Tony Watt mugging off hapless Nottingham Forest las night:
[QUOTE=āBandage, post: 1101380, member: 9ā]Tony Watt mugging off hapless Nottingham Forest las night:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qf9aqY629JY
Hope the bhoy fulfills his potential.
[ATTACH=full]2481[/ATTACH]