The official Roman Catholic thread

Do you think there isn’t a better way to give away a few hundred million?

Abortion ones?

There is a better way in my opinion. However its better for the world that a few hundred million is spent to renovate one of the greatest buildings in the world than it is to be spent on a football player or a TV show or a movie or a football stadium or a skyscraper which happens a lot more often

Not something close to my heart mate, [quote=“the_man_himself, post:4350, topic:14079, full:true”]
There is a better way in my opinion. However its better for the world that a few hundred million is spent to renovate one of the greatest buildings in the world than it is to be spent on a football player or a TV show or a movie or a football stadium or a skyscraper which happens a lot more often

Fair enough I suppose, but it’s still shocking to see these donations fly in with the charities crying out for money

:rofl: fucking simpletons

I must have missed when you mentioned this in relation to Spurs spending a billion pounds on their new stadium

I never mentioned that mate, why all the whataboutery?

What’s the difference between spending loads of money on one of the greatest buildings in the world and spending loads of money on a football stadium?

The big difference is that Notre Dame is a lot more worthy of the money

Some lads really revealing their short sightedness in here. The usual suspects too, just spend now with no vision for the future.

Did the good people of Ireland send donations for the spurs stadium?

Yes, they buy tickets to games, merchandise and TV subscriptions which contribute to Spurs’ wealth which contributes to Spurs’ football stadium

Oh. Is that the same as making donations to rebuild Notre dame? I wouldn’t have thought so myself.

What’s does this even mean?

Notre Dame is beloved across the world. People go there and love it. That could be from the basic cultural significance, visiting it or even just viewing it from the Seine. People get something out of it.

ND has always had limited entrance charges as well, so it’s not like it’s being coined. Unlike the Spurs stadium, where you pay a pretty penny to go to it or even just watch a game on tv.

I find you being a philistine interesting given you were defending the moaning over a semi big tower being built in Dublin last week. Was it because it would cast a shadow over your favourite needle clinic?

‘‘Greatest buildings in the world’’? - surely that’s a matter of taste? - iconic yes, but that’s as much to do with longevity and Disney than anything else.

That money would be better spent on Make A Wish or some other worth while charity - but people are free to do as they like with their money and that’s the bottom line.

No, its much less worthy of the money

Have I ever commented on the spurs stadium, am I complicit in its building because at 6 years old I decided they were my favourite team? It’s whataboutery, it’s lunacy that Irish people are donating and it’s vulgar that billionaires are donating hundreds of millions unless they are doing at least the same with charities

I’ll be in the car on the way to work.

The stupid fucker hasn’t a clue how time zones work

No, you haven’t commented on the Spurs stadium yet you’re making loads of comments about this

How is Irish people donating a few hundred euro worse than spending loads of money on runners?

Billionaires spend money on much worse stuff than this that you don’t comment on. Its taking the burden off the French government from rebuilding it