The Official TFK Farming Thread

An Opel ascona. Not the best vehicle for cattle transport

The Ballybricken mans Passat would have been more appropriate.

It would. I am still due to call by him some evening to view the new farm buildings

A mighty yoke to carry square bales though. Compensation innit…

Cutting methane ‘quickest’ way to limit climate change, says G20 (irishtimes.com)

Grow up.

Can anyone explain to me this fellas thinking? He is arguing that the council should cut his hedge for him, so in protest, he is dumping his milk and has subsequently lost about €25,000 of income he says. All because he wont cut his hedge and wants the council to do it. It genuinely sounds like the stupidest fucking thing I have ever heard of.

It’s half referenced there but this is part of some dispute with the council going back, there was an article about it somewhere else here.

Sounds like a contrary fucker

yeah they fined him previously for cutting out of season, so his response then is to say its their job to do it and that he wont sell milk. That’ll teach them. oh wait now.

He sounds like he’d be a right lad for this place actually

I was thinking the very same thing

The poor farmers, thinks nothing of fucking away €25k then

I presume he will be looking to sue the Council for some sort of loss of earnings here. He might be hoping he can put the feet up until Christmas and the Council will have to pay him for the milking he won’t be doing.

The responsibility of hedge cutting varies from county to county. In Galway the council do it for everyone, but in Limerick the farmers along a road have to do it themselves or pay a contractor to do it. This lad sounds like an awful ape.

The stretch of hedge is 100-150m long down a laneway that is shared with another farmer. The two lads have previous and the guy dumping the milk won’t cut the hedge to benefit the other farmer.

There is a bit more that can’t really be said but that’s the jist of it

Robert seems an obstinate sort, seeing the situation through whatever prism he chooses himself. As pointed out previously there’s a niche he could slip into here if he could spare the time. The already titanic battles in the Ulster championship would be augmented by his observations.

Wasted farming when he has the makings of a top top poster

While you’re there, did I see your face on an old Gaa programme related to the Derry Co.final sometime in the mid-90’s. Might have been an anniversary team in fact. Christ but you were an ugly looking fucker then.

What counts is that I’m outrageously handsome now…on the Internet anyhow

so for what, maybe €300 to get it cut, he’d rather lose €25k, just because another fella will get some benefit out of it. Thats fair argumentative and stubbornness skills right there.

That’s it in a nutshell yes