Major major issues coming as Contractors prices are in for a massive jump.
I’m hearing of some contractors struggling to get diesel.
And, they are royally pissed off with 2c dig out on the excise.
Major major issues coming as Contractors prices are in for a massive jump.
I’m hearing of some contractors struggling to get diesel.
And, they are royally pissed off with 2c dig out on the excise.
Theres going to be a global food shortage, theyll make a fortune and the government wants to give them a grant to boot
A contractor might not be a farmer…
The diesel thing is a real concern, most work off small enough reserves and fill direct from the oil truck
I was more on the line that the farmers will be okay with the contractors increases they will be making so much.
Wouldn’t like to be a contractor, or truck driver or taxi etc etc at the minute
Ah yeah, the farmer always gets those increases
They won’t though, only the bear necessities will be done and stock on beef farms will be reduced meaning less work this year and next for the contractor. It will be a disaster for quite a few guys
Can Ireland feed itself? Yes. A nutritious diet? Not at the moment (irishtimes.com)
these fuckin cunts, asleep at the wheel, Ireland being a food secure country was a lie by the IFA
Heard of three sole traders that have pulled the plug, settled their diesel bills and are putting various bits of gear up for sale. 2 of them baler men and all well established. Going working paye instead
This summer @Little_Lord_Fauntleroy will be tasting a potato for the first time in his life.
It’s been a major fuck up by previous Governments alright.
A well established Beet industry cast aside to buy cheaper imports…
the expansion of the Dairy herd to boost exports & collar the Farmers with debt as expansion costs….
the overstocking of land with Cows has led to a massive increase in Fertiliser use to grow enough grass to graze & use for winter fodder.
The increases of Fertiliser use has helped feather the nest of Putin through gas & mineral sales.
dairy expansion threw up huge red flags once Dairy Farmers suddenly began to blow Tillage farmers off con acre land.
Land prices then rocketed up to the benefit of a certain few.
All the while we not making use of the Slurry & farmyard manure we make as a byproduct.
We continue to export our recyclable waste when we could use it for the production of some reusable materials.
We are encouraged to put up solar panels etc but the farmer with the area available to put the systems in place can’t sell the excess energy back into the grid.
We have numerous Solar Farm projects around the country being halted due to to full time objectors who live in urban luxury.
If this current crisis doesn’t open eyes to the fact that we are an Island nation which must secure our own needs then we are cannon fodder to the Vultures rapidly circling.
It’s sad to hear but there is a major problem in that there are far too many on the ground to do the work required anyway.
Big problem is rates.
On one hand you have lads who invest in good machinery, insurance & having their tax correct. This setup needs & deserves a margin.
Then, you have the cash guy. The chaps running poor gear and charging too little but fucking rates up for others.
Teagasc the cunts heightened the current pain by blowing up the Dairy industry at the cost of the Tillage - Arable sectors.
while the IFA says Irish farming feeds 50 million people the actual number according to the UN is 2.5m & we are a net importer of food.
Ireland imports 3m tonnes of grain each year, in the main to feed livestock. there is a scarce amount of grain in the world & irish farmers are importing this at the expense of low income people
Too many cows, not enough Tillage.
I’m doing me best here, grand day for it.
That’s not human grade grain
incorrect
Stick to insignificant football teams. You know feck all about farming.