True, based on low risk, which Mrs. Fran was catagorised as. Anyone not catagorised as low risk will not be allowed do it in Ireland unless they want to do it without any assistance
Itâs the herd mentality on here. The one thing you can be guaranteed is that youâll get @myboyblue jumping on the bandwagon at some stage with some stale banter
Pal, if God was happy for his Son to be born in a stable then Iâm sure itâs okay for your son to be born in a comfortable suburban home. Ignore the bullies and detractors.
When my good lady went in to have our first child her contractions started around 11 at night. Into the maternity at 1:00. We have about five minutes to put the gear into the private room (only the best for the McNultyâs) and up to the maternity ward. Epidural arrived at around four and after that the missus has no pain and was very relaxed, the epidural will delay event for hours which is whybthe cunts of midwives do their best to stop you having it. I was bollixed from working the previous day which also involved travel. The midwives and herself spotted me nodding off and suggested I go down to the room and theyâd call me at the first sign of anything, so I fucked off down and lay on the bed.
At seven there was a knock on the door and a nurse stuck her head in, and of course she was surprised to see me in there on my own. I explained the situation and said Iâd be soon on the way up. She smiled and turned back out the door. As soon as it closed I could hear the cunt roar out in a broad county Limerick accent âWE HAVE A LAZY MAN IN HEREâ to the whole fucking ward. Feeling two foot tall I got out and went back up.
Its fear. Its fear that lads thinking the standard way may possibly, not have been the best way for their kid. They donât want to hear about an alternative because it makes (some) them feel like they didnât have all the info.people donât like that.
Its easier to ridicule and dismiss than actually investigate. You made a great point about the fatigue of the people in a hospital. The woman i know only takes on a handful of burths at a time so she can concentrate on the those people the entire time.
And its funny to see people dismiss the positive results of home births yet ignore the deaths in hospitals. Obviously the chances of deaths are higher in a hospital as more people go there.
But this image of an auld one in the 30âs having a child on her own out in the outhouse seems to be the one most of these gobshites have.
Childbirth is one of the most punishing things the human body can go through. There are thousands of things that could go wrong. Mrs Mac was in labour for the guts of 12-14 hours and no amount of pushing was getting our lad out so he was literally pulled out for her and his safety. Had that happened at home it might have been a different story but she might well have been more relaxed too. Its pointless comparing the 2 and saying 1 is better than the other in my opinion - whatever the parents feel is best for their own situation with the least amount of risk should be all that matters. Sure you could be hit by a drunk driver on the way to the hospital but youâre unlikely to think of that when it comes to deciding whether homebirth is an option or not.
This has been a civilised debate here kev, I havenât seen anyone ridicule anyone elses beliefs except in an obvious ball hoppy way, each to their own. I made my own case clearly, through my wife Iâm well aware of what a homebirth involves and have been for a long time, we had three births that could have taken place in a stable with a few hot towels but for one I am extremely happy it took place in a hospital and with a private consultant who knew my wife and got out of his own bed once the birth was imminent. It was a perfect pregnancy and there was no reason to suspect it wouldnât be a simple birth.
Why the name calling??