Excellent post.
Its awful anyone has to go thru that trauma though. Great thing was there was complications going forward and ye could have another.
Excellent post.
Its awful anyone has to go thru that trauma though. Great thing was there was complications going forward and ye could have another.
Yeah once everyone was safe and healthy that was the next issue. Wasnât straight forward either but all has worked out well so weâre happy with that.
Dito.
My wife has a rare condition called Addison disease. Sheâs on of only 3 people in the country to have it. Was told we wouldnât be able to have kids. To cut a long story short from the moment she did get pregnant, a home birth was never going to be an option as there was always going to be complications.
People who opt for homebirths are usually the type who plaster their lives all over facebook. Attention seekers. Selfish needy people who need to stand out from the crowd.
If you want to do something reckless that goes against the grain and will give you a cute little dinner party story then do a bungee jump or a sky dive or maybe travel to Liverpool for an abortion and document the trip.
Donât put the life of your unborn in the hands of some earthy midwife who has no plan b should the shit hit the fan.
@fran did she ate the placenta as well? A woman at one of the antenatal classes we went to before the birth of our first was having the home birth, had the inflatable pool purchased, and was going going to savage the aul placenta shortly after I believe. She was moaning about the paperwork required to do so. Went on a big rant about how it was natures way to do so, and that it was her right to do so and the state shouldnât be getting involved.
Baffled the fuck out of me, people used to wipe their holes with dock leaves too, doesnât mean they should still be at it. But each to their own.
Youâd worry about state of humanity when you have fellas like @Thumper thinking that a machine is going to have the baby for you. Running around like a bluearse fly, wrecking everybodyâs head and calling for the consultant every time the wife has a contraction
Then you have lads like @HBV sitting in the pub around the corner drinking pints and reading the paper while the wife is roaring in pain in the maternity ward next door
Very unlike you to play the man, not the ball, Fran. Simple fact is that babies and mothers are never safer at home. You canât argue your way out of that.
In fairness though. Itâs the man who has the hardest job. He has to get her pregnant in the first place. If she canât handle a bit of pain after we sacrificing bodily fluids then thatâs just a touch ungrateful wouldnât you say?
I was never once offered a seat or a cup of tea on a labour ward either. And one of them lasted 8 or 9 hours.
I took a slice of her toast after the first was born. Checked into the casualty ward 10 minutes later
Iâve been dragged down to this level . Studies actually show that mothers are better off at home. That mortality rate for babies increases from 1/1000 to 2/1000 for homebirths
She didnât
I just asked a proper professional in this area, who happens to be here with me.
High risk is how she described it.
Women & children regularly arrive in by ambulance
What can go wrong? You have one midwife in the house. If both mother and child have a problem, then youâve got a problem.
Look you might know this stuff, but Iâll always be happy we were in a hospital when my son was born.
Doctors can move when they need to.
Selective data. Only utterly straightforward looking births and healthy mothers allowed.
You make that sound like a bad thingâŚ
Iâm not saying youâre right but at least with a homebirth the midwife mightnât be in the middle of a 14 hour shift that she canât leave and her mind wonât be distracted by a load of other shite that has gone on with deliveries that day
Iâd say you stood there with the camera up on the tripod recording the whole thing.
A âmidwife friend of mineâ was telling me thats standard behavior for homebirthers. That the husbands usually gets a list of fucked up shit to tick off as the show goes on.
A âpsychologist friend of mineâ also told me that homebirth fathers can be right weirdos, control freaks. âA lot of midwives will tell youâ that home birth dads are too eager to get their hands dirty and piss off the midwife looking to run the show and are generally very strange controlling individuals.
Cuckold job. Twould be great to see a father at a home birth and all of a sudden his staring at a six inches black dangler coming out. Wouldnât be long getting to the hospital then
Ah Iâd say Fran was getting towels and warm water for the entirety of it.