The Official TFK Father's Issues Thread. I don't know how they do it

I wasn’t going to say anything…

In my/our experience the staff in the maternity were eager that the mother wouldn’t quit at the first hurdle

Can depend what the public health nurse is like. Some say it isn’t easy but just get on with it. Others say do what works best and remember you’ve a perfectly healthy baby and breastfeeding isn’t everything. Your kid will most likely be 100% fine either way.

Yeah the evidence for BF is there for sure. My other half has worked in healthcare academia so I’d trust her view. Seemingly its really good if your missus can BF for first 3 months. Good for 6 months but not essential. After that there is actually no clear evidence of any further benefit.

@Phil_Leotardo has spoken the truth here.

we got an older wan who told the Mrs not to bother as she had surgery before and would be wasting her time… Bottles fucked us as it widened the baby’s stomach and was too easy to feed…big ordeal to turn it back the other way. But they all generally insist on the boob unless the mother makes it clear they are bottle feeding

That’ll happen after electric picnic. Lads spending a full weekend with the wife in a tent in the missing rain. Shur what else would you talk about?

She should join a local breastfeeding group

No choco was insistent before the birth he wanted to be up during the night to help out. In fact i think he questioned whether fellas who wanted a good nights sleep actually loved their kids or not

Depends on the hospital but yes. We had first in Holles st and was nearly a fistfight at the ante natal classes about it they were so pushy

It’s 2019 fella, and it’s 2024 in mouse’s house

and I’ve been true to my word. 2hrs sleep is more than enough.

First 6 months is shocking.

Nobody tells you. You won’t be told.

It feels endless. It ends.

My two are 8 and 10. Older lad wrote two books over summer and wears a hoodie he designed and ordered with this book character name on it - Agent Bacon. A super hero who saves other pieces of food.

He’s the physically laziest child you will ever meet. He’ll find his way.

You and yours will be grand but yeah the first few months are very, very hard.

I’ve two bottles of Czech pils in me… Easy out so it is.

Si

You should always speak up if you’ve a problem. You have plenty and pleanty of them.

You’re a plane speaker, fair play

Never took much notice of it to be honest.

Let me know when you’re learning to spell yourself, il be happy to attend classes with you. Could just get educated on here for free from @TheUlteriorMotive.

Sorry mate, I wouldn’t have said anything but for your insistence on good grammar, I was just trying to.gently suggest that no-one is perfect, not gently enough it would appear.
I wish you peace for the remainder of the evening

Back to work next week is it? We will keep a close eye on it