The Official TFK Father's Issues Thread. I don't know how they do it

[QUOTE=“Kinvara’s Passion, post: 1115989, member: 686”]You would create an intense level of fear across both him, his brother and his mates. From that moment on the @theLockes crew would untouchable and he would have your up most respect. Just a theory like…

@Mac teething is tough going alright. 3rd time up since 4am… Spilled a bottle of calpol on the carpet too FML[/QUOTE]

At least you’ll have no trouble out of the carpet for the next 4 or 5 hours.

[QUOTE=“Kinvara’s Passion, post: 1115989, member: 686”]
Spilled a bottle of calpol on the carpet too FML[/QUOTE]

:eek::mad:

[QUOTE=“TheUlteriorMotive, post: 1116006, member: 2272”]Bought the young lad his first helmet (adult size large - he’s 6) and hurley this week as he is at a GAA camp.

Came in from work late last night and the hurley and helmet were lined up inside front door. Makes you realise the time does go by.[/QUOTE]

Lovely story but, fuck me, how big is his head if he’s taking an adult size large at 6?

I hope for his poor mother’s sake he came out the sunroof. She must be in tatters otherwise.

[QUOTE=“Elvis Brandenberg Kremmen, post: 1116026, member: 1624”]Lovely story but, fuck me, how big is his head if he’s taking an adult size large at 6?

I hope for his poor mother’s sake he came out the sunroof. She must be in tatters otherwise.[/QUOTE]
:D:D

[QUOTE=“Elvis Brandenberg Kremmen, post: 1116026, member: 1624”]Lovely story but, fuck me, how big is his head if he’s taking an adult size large at 6?

I hope for his poor mother’s sake he came out the sunroof. She must be in tatters otherwise.[/QUOTE]

It’s big alright but he is not walking around looking like Stewie from Family Guy:D

Weighed 10 pounds 6 ounces when he was born

:wink:

[QUOTE=“theLockes, post: 1115760, member: 58”]Ben and Jerry are getting big. 8 in June. Ben is starting to challenge me, never mind openly questioning me but pretty much threw the head at me as I was getting them all ready to go out cycling the other day.
I know what would have happened in my day, would have got a clatter and that would be the end of it. When he does it with me at least I have the control to not beat 7 shades of shit out of him but what happens when he does this to a bigger boy or to a man/woman in authority (like a trainer say)?
I took him to one side and explained to him in no uncertain terms that he could do this and went through the whole bigger boy story with him. I know he’ll try it once with a boy in say 5th or 6th class and he’ll get the shite knocked out of him and he’ll learn a valuable lesson but you’d like to see them a bit more street smart. Between all the Molly coddin that kids get, all the praise and lack of clips across the ear I fear for our kids…
Anyone been through this?[/QUOTE]

not at all saying you should give him a clatter or anything but you do need to sort that out fairly quickly.
im a great believer in keeping kids busy otherwise they wreck your head when they are sitting around. a lot of it is lazyness or boredom which leaves energy that needs to be burnt off. cycling is a waste of time im afraid. its a solitary activity as such and that is why you see weirdos taking it up in later life, but the martial arts thing is a good idea but he is also old enough for boxing so bring him there and let him channel it in that direction among boys his own age and he will learn a bit of respect quickly enough id say.

[QUOTE=“theLockes, post: 1115760, member: 58”]Ben and Jerry are getting big. 8 in June. Ben is starting to challenge me, never mind openly questioning me but pretty much threw the head at me as I was getting them all ready to go out cycling the other day.
I know what would have happened in my day, would have got a clatter and that would be the end of it. When he does it with me at least I have the control to not beat 7 shades of shit out of him but what happens when he does this to a bigger boy or to a man/woman in authority (like a trainer say)?
I took him to one side and explained to him in no uncertain terms that he could do this and went through the whole bigger boy story with him. I know he’ll try it once with a boy in say 5th or 6th class and he’ll get the shite knocked out of him and he’ll learn a valuable lesson but you’d like to see them a bit more street smart. Between all the Molly coddin that kids get, all the praise and lack of clips across the ear I fear for our kids…
Anyone been through this?[/QUOTE]

Law of the jungle…he’ll get his kickin in the school yard and be all the better for it… the molly coddling and praise kids get nowadays is worrying though…they’ll have developed no coping skills by the time they hit their twenties… they’ll be all going to psychologists … shrinks will be the real winners is all of this…

agreed, its also good for the kids to see the parents fight a lot, character building

It’s amazing the difference 10 years makes. The attitude of most of the Grads coming in here is shocking. Pouting with an impress me or I’m off elsewhere attitude. Poor work ethic, a lot of them have never worked anywhere before, not even a part time job during the summer. They’ve spend their whole lives being told how great they are and badly need a belt of a shoulder and a few digs in the head.

Not here. Most of the grads in here are shit hot technically and not afraid of work I have to say. They would lack the common sense trait but that can only be gained with experience. I fucking hate their enthusiasm :mad:

Funny you say that KP because an IT Grad started here last Monday and he’s grand and humble and eager to learn. Maybe its just Engineers…

Best post I’ve read in a while.
Literally laughing out loud to myself here.

Already going to Karate TUM, sound for the advice

Too late for you to get a couple I suppose.

Many is the hiding I got from the oul fella, balbec including one that saw me going head first into the stairs in a particularly memorable one. No harm. It’s part of the reason I’m such a well-rounded, polite and productive member of society today. Kids today don’t know they were born. PC bullshit gone mad. A few belts for a snotnosed brat wouldn’t be long schooling him.

hae a kilkenny style training session with the young lad and when the opportunity arises flatten him and remind him a la keane/haaland who’s the boss

if you dont do it now he’ll turn out to be a pork pie hat, tweed trousers wearing, fixie riding, nutribullet swilling hipster

Would ye beat your daughters as well?

[QUOTE=“myboyblue, post: 1115812, member: 180”]What terrifies me is that at least in our day you closed the bedroom door and that was it, but nowadays with smartphones tablets laptops you haven’t a bulls fucking notion what’s going on when and how anymore.
He could turn into one of those weirdos who spend their life online on Internet fora and the like

The mother’s raise them don’t they?

Christ thats the last thing you’d want. Pick one forum and do it to death, thats my advice.