The Official TFK Father's Issues Thread. I don't know how they do it

no, im having a fag here in my conservatory, he’s playing / trying to tire him out, will KO around 8ish

Just drop out of here. Thanks.

The child probably hasn’t seen you all day because you were out at work and is just looking for a bit of attention/quality time from you.

Sorry chief I meant to ask, is he still in the cot or has he got a bed already?

See do Smyth’s have any mini prowlers and run the shit out of him before bedtime.

cot is on the lowest level, he’s stil in it allright

Time for a bed for starters. Will help. Guarantee it. My two were the same at thst age. When they shifted to the bed it sorted a lot of it

I’ve an 20 month old and I’ve been thinking about changing him from cot to a bed. Would he not be tearing round the room like a lunatic and pulling the drawers and wardrobes down on top of himself? At least the cot keeps him caged in when he wakes up and goes berserk.

Dunno. Every kid is different. All I know is that my two changed to a bed at between 2 1/2 and three. Its when they start trying to climb out of the cot is when its time to change.

They climb out? Ah fuck…

Oh yea. My eldest climbed out one night without a bother. Came into the two of us at 4am with a grin like a chesire cat. That was it. Bed bought next day and in fairness it worked

Conservatory, lah di dah!

I’m still trying to get madame out of my bed; she was awfully affected by her mammy’s illness and just when I thought she was back to normal she started her ECCE year and now she’s back to being clingy as feck at night time

Get the routine going pal. Routine, routine, routine. For my eldest lad I found it worked a treat. After dinner he got 20 mins to wind down then into the PJs, story, and a small snack (fruit). He knew it was bed time and would start getting into the leaba himself. This, from a kid that would hit it hard ALL day! As he gets older, he can start getting himself undressed. A bit of craic showing him how to open shirt buttons, etc.

Try not to let them get over-tired. That makes it a tough ask. But, all kids are different…

Won’t be forever pal. Enjoy it while she still needs you. And is not giving you spades of lip!

Do it mate, just do it

The father says they had to put chicken wire over the top of my cot cause I kept escaping.

It’s a different situation though. You were 20 years of age at the time.

I’m open to suggestions here lads. What sort of punishment should i mete out for a one year old who deliberately stopped me going to the best Ireland match in fucking years by getting sick?

In the light of the result she deserves an award. You’re all the fresher in the morning, you’ve enjoyed the game and the best is yet to come. I’d suggest a Kinder egg.