Fair play to the City Council. A fairly resounding majority to oppose a stupid idea.
By boycott it do they mean not attend it, or is it boycott in a TFK sense where they’ll go along and tug their forelock furiously? Cc @GeoffreyBoycott
Has the schedule of RIC commemorations been finalised yet?
From the petition:
"On January 17th the so-called Irish Government are planning to officially commemorate the Black and Tans in Dublin Castle.
This event is part of a wider campaign by the Free State administration to try and equal those who fought against Irish Independence with those who fought for Irish independence"
Embarrassing stuff.
You see straight away that kind of shite undermines that petition. Apes.
Some more from these fuckwits:
“The important thing to remember is the Black and Tans never really left us, their type donned a Free State uniform, an RUC uniform, a B specials uniform, a paratroop uniform, an eviction team uniform etc so this event has is not just about 1920 it has far-reaching consequences”
It’s particularly embarrassing that Fianna Fáil are fighting for votes with the Shinner clowns.
That IRA/SF propaganda? Cringe.
I’ll be in there to honour my great grandfather’s service in the RIC. We need to heal as a nation to have any chance of a peaceful United Ireland.
Some serious back pedaling going on.
Why are various county councillors and Rastoolers only discovering this now?
https://www.decadeofcentenaries.com/
They had lots of chances to consult on this and other events. Shows a real lack of attention to detail from them.
Why didn’t they pipe up before? Too busy on Palestinian motions and the likes?
As somebody who unlike others here has actually seen active service as a volunteer in the Provisional IRA (West Dublin Keyboard Brigade 2011-15) I have no problem with others commemorating the dead of the RIC
The whole point of reconciliation is to come to terms with the complexity of our history and extend parity of esteem to all sides rather than force people to subscribe to a “good v evil” officially approved version of history as some here want
Irish history is far too complex for such a narrative to be allowed predominate - there were good and bad people on all sides
A small commemoration of those who died does not signify agreement with cause or method, it’s a gesture of reconciliation, it’s a gesture of human empathy
If something like this is deemed controversial, how can a united Ireland ever work
Yet if commemorating British Army World War I veterans like Tom Barry is now deemed uncontroversial, I don’t see why this should be any different
My own historical reading tells me that men like Barry were wrong to fight for the British Empire abroad, yet who am I to condemn him as a person
I mean others here see fit to eulogise the Nazi supporter Dan Breen
Criticising an Irish politician [of any hue] for lack of attention to detail is like giving out about the weather ffs. Its par for the course.
Timothy has a real bee in his bonnet about the most irrelevant part of this issue - the timeliness of the objections.
How is it irrelevant? This goes back to 2012.
Where were the complaints?
https://www.decadeofcentenaries.com/expert-group/
Are all of these people “revisionists”, including the ex Fianna Fáil Minister there?
That website even has Minutes of discussions over this.
How are we supposed to take people seriously when they refused to actively engage previously?
The reality is that the complainers are really akin to the scumbag protestors in 2014;
What has minuted meetings got to do with anything? It doesn’t mean the decisions of the committee can’t be disputed.
Unless you have minutes of people now objecting to the decision previously agreeing with it?
Spot on.
Yet there are idiots in the South like Unionists in the North who are not for turning.
Where was the engagement?
Not that difficult Rocko. I know you left your morals at the door in supporting them but this is still a woeful lack of attention to detail. The Army Council were always on top of things.