The Official TFK Ireland 1912-1923 Thread

Just because the comparison is uncomfortable for you doesn’t mean that it is invalid.

Nobody is saying that. All that people are saying is that we shouldn’t commemorate that police force.

I think we can see from this dialog that many on TFK are not ready for a United Ireland yet.

For those needing guidance on how to mature as a nation, consider the life of Sean Lemass. A man whose own brother was tortured and murdered by his former comrades, and yet forgave his enemies* and did more to heal wounds and move Ireland towards a modern prosperous economy than most.

• Lemass responded to a request for and granted a pension to family members of those his own family believed were responsible for killing his brother.

I haven’t basically said that at all.

Tim Pat Coogan’s father shot him. Then again Sean Lemass shot his own infant brother so he didn’t really have the moral high ground here.

Again, i’ll defer to my earlier point - it’s how we are being jettisoned into commemorating is the issue - being told we are not mature enough is counter productive. It’s arrogant and insensitive.

By all means put it forward as a healing process - use it to show two Irelands (just like there is today) use it as a means to get people to question their own ideas of nationalism/unionism/ identity.

You dont tell people to just get on with it and it’s their own short comings if they dont.

That’s fair.

As a great grand son of a former RIC Constable I wonder why anybody would want to commemorate the RIC when nobody asked for it. Seems a bizarre own goal/shooting in the foot to have raised it. Nobody was clamouring for it.

The RIC wasn’t an organised police force mate. It was a quasi military tool for the suppression of Irish people by the British Government and the ruling classes. It was not in line with the other British police forces of the time in that they were armed, lived in barracks and couldn’t be stationed in their own region.

I’ve moved my position. My own family has some soul searching to do. From the 1911 census my great grand father had moved to Killimor where he was now a retired RIC Constable. I like to think he had seen the light. My grandfather had left home at 16 presumably as he could not live under the roof of a quisling any longer.

Vile post.

Leo want’s to be seen as Taoiseach Super Woke so he can be patted on the head some more by international media

What’s vile about it?

I expect that is exactly what happened. He must be seething having to defend the Black and Tans a month before an election.

Using the tragic accidental death of an infant to try and make some point on morality that only you understand.

You can’t handle the truth.

Sorry just like all their police officers were like French nazis. Were the RUC the moral equivalent of French Nazis? Will they suddenly become that once a United Ireland is achieved?

A crumbling health service and a housing crisis and he’ll lose the election based on this :joy:

I didn’t say any of that. That’s all in your own head. But sure carry on.

id actually it was supposed to be a trigger to make the shinners go nuts and he could point to that during the election campaign. unfortunately for him the irish people arent guardianistas and just widely reviled the plan

I’ll bow to your superior knowledge here but it was my understanding that the RIC before the war of Independence kicked off were basically just a regular police force. I think I saw that in the RTE documentary 7 Ages, scoff at that if you want. Are you saying that Ireland never had at regular police force before the Gardai?