It’s OK mate, don’t worry, Cork is still really good too
Wellesley Bridge
So kind
One reason there was so much activity in Cork during the WOI is down to the fact so many of the locals were very pro British in the first place. Ye like to brush that under the carpet though
FFS go way boy,learn your history orally, and through books instead of half guessing, actually speak to people who know and are interested in Irish history, then come back , speak common sense man
Why do you think ye have such a peerless revolutionary history corky?
Bandon, a stronghold of loyalism. There is no town in Limerick like Bandon. It is remarkable the level of pro British support in the area, and it wasn’t just from unionist protestant landowners. There was a strong pro British support in Cork
A dare you to think a little harder…
Buttevant and it’s surrounds are fiercely protestant. They love their horse racing too there, always a giveaway.
Oh look there’s no doubt about it, Adare is a very English little village. However, not on the same level as Bandon. The level of actively supporting British forces during the WOI, through informers and the open support of a large portion of the local population, both protestant and Catholic… nowhere near the level, actually in fairness to the Adare cunts
Finally got around to watching that now, nice programme but I agree there wasn’t enough made of his motivation or life before 1920,
The sister Mary had a prominent role in the show
Kind of incredible that you could last for 74 days and maintain consciousness until the last few
Why does Cork have a ‘lord’ mayor?
Wonder has anyone from limerick lasted that long when giving their life for their country and becoming a huge influence on revolutionaries all over the world?
An auld lad from Patrickswell told me that up until the 90s 3 bus loads from Adare used go up north on the 12 of July to support the marching. I didn’t believe him, they fucking hate Adare.
Not bus loads but both sets of whures travelling up n down
John Daly was force fed when he went on hunger strike … He was also poisoned by the wardens and was released from prison and was severely ill for the rest of his life. John was a Fenian, prominent IRB man. Mayor of Limerick and architect of 1916 rising. He’s one of the greatest Irish men of that time… But we don’t like to go on about it.
Well you’re doing a good hand at not going on about it:+1:
Maybe one if the history buffs on here light tell us the story of Cromwell in Limerick
I believe Cromwell and his lads ran the Shamrock Rovers fans out of the city one night after a match.
Rovers fans( some )actually invited Brit hooligans over to help them smash the Bohs fans( all on you tube) one of the Brit hooligans came a cropper when he ran into a Garda baton👍