Not a scapegoat.
what an absolute crock of shite, resorting back to lazy stereotypes when youve nothing else
depends on how much you want to build
oooohh someone form the HSE, those bastions of virtue, truth, asset management and value for money
What expert view on ICU exanpsion would you prefer us to use?
Your Grand Aunt who cures warts with Holy Water?
typos all over the place there lad, the rage must be huge in you given that someone is challenging your soup taking mentality
Indeed, What expert view would you refer to on the time scale for ICU expansion?
certainly not “someone from the HSE”. for all you know they could be a mere functionary like glas
Science.
There’s a one year post grad course for ICU nurses.
Are we saying we couldn’t get people into an expedited one in March to be trained up in months?
Several hundred nurses left on the shelf as well on the “on call for Ireland”.
They could open and staff 500 at the peak, they can do so again. And likely more too with surge capacity (see 800 mentioned).
Happened very quickly here
ahh ffs, john bull threw up a 4,000 bed unit in a weekend in East London, why is paddy always making excuses??
Sorry, I didn’t realise that you were unaware that the country was in lockdown from March until the end of June and the health services were at breaking point for most of that time.
weve also got capacity that wouldve been freed up from the callous disregard of the nursing homes who wouldve been frequent flyers into ICU
All of this get away from the fact that the public are not being scapegoated as being the main catalyst in the second wave.
We are to blame, shifting the blame to the Government or HSE is like committing murder and blaming the person would made the weapon that you used.
Jeremy Corbyn
there’s no we
people are to blame; whether its incompetents in the dail, HSE, NPHET or gobshites who go to parties.
they are not we, they are individuals who make stupid decisions for which we are all punished.
to bastardise your example, its like someone kills someone else and every person in the land gets a jail sentence.
Except they weren’t, that is factually incorrect.
We overestimated the number of people who would end up in hospital. A great many hospitals had little going on in those months.
The facts are we had a base capacity of 500 beds then with over 200 of them free at peak, with discussion of going up to 800.
“We also still have 109 critical care beds, that we can use immediately and we have a surge plan, for critical care, within the public system alone, that would see us go up to 800 [beds].”
I’m quite sure that New York had a few more problems with Covid in hospitals than Ireland did as well.
The entire point was to flatten the curve to build capacity, if this was like a war, yes they should have got their asses in gear and expedited any needs required. Take whoever needs to be trained, put them in a camp and get it done.
Your mate in the HSE can role out all the excuses they want, they are a basket case of an organization filled with incompetent middle managers. The health service ran fine in March and April when these people were sent home to twiddle their thumbs.
I get that you fail to understand the concept of collective responsibility, being a moany old cunt who sits on a garden porch and shouts at young people to get off his grass, but there is a certainly a ‘we’ in relation to the public and the Irish.
We let ourselves down. Simple as that.
That’s not bastardising my example, it’s completely misrepresenting it. A better example would be that we fail to adhere to agreed recycling practices and habits, our CO2 emission levels increase and we get hit with a fine for not adhering to an international agreement akin to Kyoto Protocol.
Yeah, that and the COVID officer possibly looking extremely bad considering his real life work.
Pat Fitz, Clare GAA.
Frank Murphy, Cork GAA.