The Pay Your Respects to Dead Racehorses Thread

There was proper whipping back then. Builders walking into a paddy powers with 20k cash to have on a maiden in leopardstown.

If you done that now they’d call the guards.

I wouldn’t repeat the craic he was at in 2005/2006, needless to say it makes him even more of legend in my eyes, he probably won me a hundred grand over the years (which was lost instantly) He was the King of Crusheen, Getting that Donkey Benny the Dip up to win the derby in 97 was the real start of it, I was off my head in Cork watching it and we were all on him that day

I stopped gambling a few years back, NH and Flat is destroyed

I have noticed boss as I used to enjoy your posts on the equine threads but I don’t see many anymore.

I love that bit in the book about the ruggedness and backwardness of Crusheen compared to the wonder and awe of the Golden Vale in Tipperary.

He came from nothing really.

Crusheen wouldn’t be a great spot

Was it true it was a guard in the bridge that him going? He was in trouble a bit and he got him work in a racing yard.

I don’t even know who won the Chelthenham gold cup this year, if you said that to me 15 years ago, I wouldn’t be able to comprehend it, I still watch the big one on the flat though

I think we’re in for a good year on the flat.

There’s something (or at least was something) very endearing about being in a bookies for those Thursday night meetings at Leopardstown during the summer.

Some hot shot would be turned over in the last at 9pm and then the fun started trying to find the winner of the 9.20pm at Carlisle.

Good manly punting

He was carried out of Cafe Em Seine cos he couldn’t walk. Thought it was the Friday or Saturday night though

https://twitter.com/johnquinnracing/status/1771868080307687753?s=46

Rip

That is a disaster for them. Small owner, smallish yard. He’d possibly have trained the progeny.

Limestone Lad

Brilliant story. Small trainer and owner. They just ran the feckin horse, no fear of any opposition as evidenced in the video below. One the public could latch onto. A pity he never got his win at Cheltenham to cap it off but was some servant.

https://twitter.com/RacingTV/status/1773661969108631659?t=yERFxSkc-LCUvcX2ccepAg&s=19

Giovinco RIP

Ah no what a blow.

Did she lose another good one recently as well?

https://twitter.com/racingtv/status/1790430065232081204?s=46

They’ve shown the wrong race there, the Kempton Rooster Booster one is the one to show. Noel Meade will be very sad, a few good yarns should get an airing in the next few days.

That was incredible.

The early days of in running betting. Simon Holt calling Tanya half way through to check the prices.

“11/10 now Harchibald…”