The Pretend Fitness 2 - the Turkish Get Up Thread

Sounds great. What have they you doing?

The usual stuff. Benching, squatting, deadlifting, pull ups etc but there is a good 10 minute warm up and stretch before hand. It’s a big Hyrox house too but I remain a casual observer.

I had two nasty hurling injuries in the past that have niggled at me for the last 2 decades. Ankle and arm… both have faded away with the extra strength and flexibility.

I did similar about a year back. Very beneficial but not a game changer on its own. Need to watch the other key variables - the bloody alcohol most importantly.

Sugar free monster is your friend here

The discipline to stretch and foam roll for lads our vintage with little time is the hard part. But it’s key if you want to lift heavy… I found those compound movements were causing me more issues in the long run once i started going heavy. Pulling and pushing heavy objects is grand in theory but can do wreck long term . I mean, what can go wrong lifting heavy objects off the ground?

Kettlebells have changed my life in ways i never thought possible. A lot kinder on joints for a start

I definitely could be doing more here I reckon. Like everything if you build it into your lifestyle then you do it without thinking. I’ve 20 foam rollers looking at me here in the garage so no excuse!

It’s a mugs game mate. I can see the attraction but it’s never worth the price you’ve to pay in terms of mental and physical health. The odd blow out maybe but regular pints are a cod of a job.

I see those cunts in the gym doing a half hour warmup. Stretching and rolling. They make me sick… I’ve to bate everything i want to do into a half hour

Brilliant. Seething your way through what should be happy time…

Are these not just a fuckload of caffeine?

It’s a natural Limerick state of mind

What sort of money are you talking for a Personal trainer per session? As an ex GGA hobbyist the motivation and accountability always was for/to a team when I was training regularly; now that is removed I find it hard to give myself the kick up the arse needed.

If I was using a personal trainer, I’d have to be up at all hours of the morning to use a gym, possibly on the road at 5:45 or so to be back in time to begin school run tasks at 7:10. Evening times are a no/no due to kids activities.

Exactly

You don’t find that would affect your sleep?

I have two young kids - getting to sleep is never an issue

DO IT. It’ll change your life in ways you never thought possible. We’ve a group of about 15 of us. Every morning there’s at least a few lads doing something. A run with a little hiit session thrown in, weights, intervals on the beach or boxing. You get your work done and have a bit of craic and all have a coffee about 7. Buckets more energy and whatever happens the rest of the day it’s been a good day.
Are you in limerick?

It’s a class of about 10-15 people with plenty space and everyone has their own rack, equipment etc.

6.15am class or some mornings 7:15am class are my only options. 140 per month and I use it 3 times a week so not cheap but accountability wise it works. I see it as an investment.

Worth a try. It’s all about being asleep by 10.30pm and having all your stuff ready to go out the door when the alarm goes. I’m a 6-7 hours a night man anyway so I’ll sleep from 11-5.30. Our kids are older so full nights sleep 90% of the time.

I can’t get over the amount of people drinking cans of Monster energy on the regular. I’ve gotten to the point where all I’d drink is water with a hint of blackcurrant Miwadi. You’d see a lot of women completely addicted to a can of Diet Coke a day in work.

This is hard but depends where youre at in life… just ain’t happening for me presently. With the mrs working evenings we swap at 5pm and I’m on dinner and kid duty… by the time the dust settles and kids are asleep, the dog is walked, the place tidied and the foxes are fed it’s near 11. You need a half hour to unwind then. I’m now WFH nearly full time so nip to gym on my lunch break but I’d much prefer a 6.30 session and not all the rushing around at lunch.

This too shall pass.

When are you looking at the forex markets in the morning?

200mg of caffeine at 3pm can fuck up anyone looking to get a deep sleep from 10.30pm… caffeine lasts about 12 hours… and while you’ll sleep it affects the type of sleep you’re getting.

I’ve recently gone from 4 cups a day to one and having green tea instead.

I’d urge lads looking for a pre workout hit to get beta alanine and taurine. Both really great for performance…and of course creatine for recovery