Leaving work in about 20 minutes and heading off for to play a few games of badminton…Can’t wait, has pretty much got me through the day
Puke, thanks for the road running advice. Been doing it for a week or so and I can feel the improvement in myself. I was also getting lots of niggly muscle injuries for the last few years despite doing proper warm ups so I’ve stopped doing any stretches or a warm up and am just firing straight into the activity. Working a treat so far too.
yeah, just start off at a slow pace and build into it and you will be grand
Exactly. No need to complicate matters with over elaborate programmes that actually cause you more grief.
Enjoy the badminton, mate.
I always do, mate…talk to you tomorrow
im back training so im ensuring to get a good diet into me that is well balanced and i started today with 5 slices of toast and coffee for breakfast( no milk as im watching the weight), pasta in mushroom sauce and chips for lunch with a bottle of lucozade clear ( again im watching the weight). ill have a few sweets after work for an energy lift and satisfy sugar craving and will then go for a long run around the estate for 30 minutes or so,
when i come home ill throw on a few sausages to ensure the protein helps the muscle repair post excercise and have a cup of hot chocolate to help me sleep.
at the moment im working like this
monday : treadmill 35 minutes
wednesday : road run 30 minutes
friday : treadmill 40 minutes ( slow pace)
simple but effective
what you training for mickee?
ive circuit training this evening, 5 mins warm up, 20 mins weights, 20 mins cardio, 10 mins core, 5 mins warm down good enough…
need ot get food before then as have bonked (to use the wthletic aprlance) at the last few due to lack of food…
Have you tried the frontal squats? Holding a weight to the front, and going down into deep slow squats. Its easier to right the technique and balance yourself, the form is easier. They are easier even if you take less weight it is said they are just as effective.
Not sure if you are on a programme or what, but its rare enough a 400M sprinter would be doing sets of 15.
Also squats work the hamstrings as much if not more than the quads, but a front weighted squat does put more on the quads and inner leg. I have no scientific explanation for that, only from experience.
Loosely predicting your 1RM Mickee at 87KG, you could do the Russian Squat Programme over 6 weeks, you would gain alot of strength.
Is this a fcuking WUM?
Porridge instead of toast
Wholegrain pasta if possible, leave out the chips.
Fuck away the Lugozade, synthetic sugared piss… water is your best buddy.
Eat your main meal of the day within an hour of your run, your body will burn it fierce efficiently.
If you want protein snacks… peanut butter on oakcakes.
You’ll be bored as fcuk on this type a diet after a while but if your running 10-15 miles a week and cutting shit out of your diet you’ll be in some shape in 12 weeks.
I presume you mean after the run?
You wouldn’t know what the fuck Mickee is on about. I mean what height is he if he’s 65KG and watching his weight? About 5’5? He does seem to have a good general knowledge of the whole thing though in fairness, and thats why i entertain him.
I don’t mind answering his questions, but they are as useful others as him, as he could be just making stuff up and thinking its funny that i respond.
The laugh Puke and Bando seem to get out of this lark is a little strange. But i’m sure there are a few who gain from the advice/tips from the runners/footballers/healthy people on here.
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 63223”]
I presume you mean after the run?
You wouldn’t know what the fuck Mickee is on about. I mean what height is he if he’s 65KG and watching his weight? About 5’5? He does seem to have a good general knowledge of the whole thing though in fairness, and thats why i entertain him.
I don’t mind answering his questions, but they are as useful others as him, as he could be just making stuff up and thinking its funny that i respond.
The laugh Puke and Bando seem to get out of this lark is a little strange. But i’m sure there are a few who gain from the advice/tips from the runners/footballers/healthy people on here.[/quote]
+1.
FFS Mickee Are you actually trying to put on weight?
I’d get some dietary advice if I were you-
Kinvara’s Passion has a good post above- read it and follow it!
You need to watch your calorie intake, the timing of your intake and the quality of your food intake
Mickee out of interest what kind of distance would you cover in 30 odd minutes on the threadmill…come the middle of February i am thinking of starting back in the gym…normally do about 50-70 minutes of a run(at a guess about 5 miles+ a night) 4 times a week and play badminton one other night along with two rest days…Haven’t changed my diet much aprt from trying to eat a bit more fruit and veg…
:lol: :lol: :lol:
Lads have any of ye recommendations for filling meals/lunches that don’t utilise bread or pasta or spuds? I’m trying to lose my Xmas gut. When I’m hungry I tend to justify eating a heap of pasta because I tell myself I’ll be going running that evening. The weight is slow shifting and I’m an impatient git.
You should start taking heroin as I believe it is supposed to be a good appetite suppressant.
There’s a Holland and Barrett up the road, would I be able to pick some up there?
puke i don’t know what your current diet is like but if like me you are deciding to do some serious treadmill running over the next few weeks id advise on loading up on the carbs early on ( about 2 weeks before start) and then toning it down to something like the diet plan i have advised above.
Right now id try for ~3.4k, in 30 minutes on the threadmill, this may not sound a lot but the great advantage of the threadmill is that the heat in the gym can really help if you are looking to burn weight fast and also mimick olympic marathon conditions and also the fact that you can add an incline to your run gives you a huge advantage to say regular running track users.
a word of caution tho, always wear 2 pairs of socks on a treadmill to prevent shin splints from the incessant clattering motion that you will probaby develope. this should not be treated as poor form, if you have any pain a few paracetemol mixed in a creatine shake 3 times a day will put you right
the plan you have docimented above seems very hurling oriented so i assme you are playing at a serious level this year, badminton obviously is the best game to get the eye in, the fast - very slow movement of the shuttlecock is great for hand / eye coordination and changing of body position, i actually know of 2 senior hurling goalkeepers in cork who play badminton but insead of using raquets they use hurleys to hit the shuttlecock around,
the 50-70 run is perfect 3 times a week, a match at your level i presume is 70 minutes long, self explanatory really