The Pretend Fitness Thread

Do you know my methods?

Yes there are shot loads of crap PT’s, people qualified in a week. It gives it a bad name. Crossfit and all this are keeping the physios busy. Lads like the fella croppy has, having him deadlift the first day. Madness.

Loads of shit physios too. Physios pretending to be accupuncturists, physios pretending to be S&C coaches. Physios re-injurying clients with dumb programming.

There are people that are shit in every trade.

“i texted a friend” Jaysus…

See above. Good and bad in everything.

I get clients from a few ohysios. They are excellent. They know their skills and they know mine. They bring people to a certain level and hand them over. This is common in Europe and Oz. Not so much in UK, Ireland & US. These physios understand the multi-disciplined approach. Many many others though don’t and pretend to be something they are not.

I would say though that Ireland is the most backward in my experience.

I hope you are declaring this income @caoimhaoin

this is astounding, one of the best things ive ever read on here

Why would it bother you.

Fair enough but are you sure that they [quote=“caoimhaoin, post:5763, topic:2481”]
hate the way [/quote] you are doing it?

I find it impossible to believe that a physio would actively hate what a personal trainer, a good at that, is training people to do.

taxation is a matter for us all kev

100%. They are bitching and running down me and others (the best and most qualified as it happens) to mutual friends and clients, but have no problem with the crossfits and other chancers out there. They are writing about it, they are ridiculing exercises and programs, they are frantically doing short term S&C courses to counter act.

It is.
Bit why would it bother you?

I didn’t realise that.

Any chance of a link to one of the articles where they are dissing your methods?

you can go prison kev for false declaration of income

Again. Why would it bother you?

I assume as you work for the man tou don’t have to worry about such things.

So why would you worry about me?

Woah, woah, woah - I’m not a financial adviser and I don’t have hourly charge out rates. I’m a deal maker, a heavy hitter. Kind of like public injury claim solicitors, I operate on a “no transaction / no fee” basis. Same kind of attention to detail and professional service too.

Had a quick search there, nothing obvious now but i will find. Read a physio mag recently doing same. I saved a couple along the way, will find over night.

Thing is, they have a point about alot of personal training, but there approach to solving the issue is flawed.

Its a sorting out time. Its started in the UK & US and we are behind. Oz and Germany and places had it 20 years ago.

I look forward To the series ‘Just Call Bandage’ when it airs on Netflix.

http://shoptalk.physiotherapy.ca/rep-29-mark-rippetoe-asks-are-physical-therapists-really-frauds/

Have a read of both articles on that @croppy_boy
Thats a good honest balanced one from a physios POV. Rippetoe is extreme and a little out dated himself.but even read the tone from the physio, “if we want to remain the pre-eminant authority on exercise prescription”. This is the artigance that follows them around.
There is one cracking debate on a FB page or comments section somewhere which reveals the physios attack on us.

As ever, the meeting ahould be in the middle.

http://tfwboston.com/2015/06/why-personal-trainers-are-a-scam/

whats wrong with middle aged men going out for a run to blow off the cobwebs and loosen the joints kev?

thats me.
it keeps me ticking over and along with a good diet it keeps me in good shape and my GP very happy. i have aches and pains but im not 21. i do a bit of yoga at home with the wife who is stone mad into it but it costs me nothing.

what will 50 an hour do for me over and above that.

He right about loads of that.

But he is also then flogging TFW. Which i have no issue with, but that is run by people with a similar approach to me? But they go beyond that and have made a global product out of basic good practice and packaged it well.

So you are basically using a contradiction to your own argument. Thats capitalism at ots finest, global capitalism at that