The Pretend Fitness Thread

That’s savage running for a first timer- I’m at it about 6 months and I’d be doing fantastically well to squeeze under 80
I’d say there;s some decent talent there

far from it WBY. the lad who ran it with me did it in 67 mins. it was his first race aswell and he would have done little in the way of proper training. that man has some decent talent. going to aim to under 70 mins next time.

You must have massive fitness because doing 10 miles requires a minimum level before you ever get to putting 10*7min miles back to back- a load of club runners would be happy with that
:clap: take the plaudits

tbh wb yeats i think the forum are finding your constant affirmations about peoples jogging ability quite tiresome

10k or 10 miles?

10 miles

fair play

I’m concerned about the posters’ wellbeing around here TASE- everybody needs to be told they are a doing a good job from time to time.
I’m struggling to find something to praise you about though… :smiley:

Thats a savage pace FP. No wonder you hit the wall. Well done, any time below 80 is very good.

Did 7 miles on sunday morning along the Flaggy shore in New Quay in very breezy conditions… 55 mins on the button. I was fcuked after it, still am. I’ll be very happy to clock under 80 in Craughwell.

For a 10K, what time and pace should I be hoping to achieve? The obvious answer is as fast as I can, but what’s the norm for a newcomer?

To be honest, if your starting from scratch then 9 minutes per mile would be a decent goal. It really depends how much prep you have done.

How many miles have you got up to in training?

i know two lads who are doing the great ireland run in phoenix park on april 10. its a 10k and they are aiming for sub 60 mins. as KP said, anywhere between 9 and 10 miles a hour should be your target. main thing is to finish it, dont worry too much about time. good luck TREs.

I do a 5 mile run three nights a week and 4 mile walk two nights. Im currently running 10 minute miles roughly. I’ve around 8 weeks done now.

That’s the race I was aiming for but due to work commitments I may not make it up to Dublin for it. I don’t mind tipping away until something closer comes up during the summer and making a right go of it.

What about that thing in Limerick the May Bank Holiday weekend?

You should manage to maintain the 10 min miles over the last 2 k handy enough so. Would have thought most people would find it easier in a crowd, you might even find yourself doing it a bit quicker.

thats good preparation, keep that up.

question for any running experts on here. I could string 10 or 12 ten min miles together. Push pace to anything like 7m 30 or 8 min miles and would struggle to get 5 miles without calving. How would you improve your pace over middle distances like this

speed comes with time. when your out running you should be jogging about a min slower than your race pace. you should be doing one LSD run per week and increase milage by 1 per week. this pace would be between 1min 30 secs to 2 mins slower than normal pace. try to do one speed run per week i.e a 3 mile run at race pace/best you can. follow this routine, and after a couple of months you will get faster dan.

mon - 5 mile run (regular pace +1 min)
tues - rest/corework
wed - speed run
thurs - 5 mile run (regular pace +1 min)
fri - rest
sat - LSD
sun - rest.

im no expert, but have picked up bits and pieces here and there. kev would know a lot more.