The Pretend Fitness Thread

Welcome to PB country!

Not sure if this is the right thread or not but do any of you know a way to benefit from the cycle to work scheme if your employer doesn’t offer it?

Contact your local Green Party TD and they should be able to point you in the right direction.

:lol: :lol:

how is the running going KP? Ran 13 miles yesterday in 1hour 42 mins (LSD run). Looking to increase my mileage per week with the long evenings, somewhere between 35-40 miles per week.

Would you stop at all for a breather at any point during the 13 miles or is it non stop running? Would you hit a brick wall at all?

i would keep running. im in pretty good shape. i would do one long run a week and will increase mileage by a mile each time but will cap it at about 17/18. id run at least 5 times a week these days with 7 miles the shortest run.

Fair play Fenway, thats serious training.

Thats a great half marathon time FP. Your doing serious training, might no harm to leave at least one day between the short runs. The body does need time to rest and repair aswell.

My training is not going great, too fuckin busy these evenings for long runs. Have reduced my new goal to running a sub 45 minute 10K by September. Ran a 48 minute 10k last week so will take a bit of work to cut 3 minutes off that.

Whats your next race?

Im not running any races, i’ll probably do the ballycotton 10 next year, but thats about it. Im not into the whole competitive aspect of running and do it more for health reasons to be honest.

sub 45 mins for 10k is seriously good running.

Hmmm fitness, I’ll try and give it a go.

Fenway or Kinvara or any of the more experienced runners, what do ye know about Chi running, if anything? Bought a book on it but only through the first few pages. Alot of it makes sense to me so far, but i have never actually met or spoke to someone who trains this way.

Catherina Mckiernan is a convert and a big fan of Chi Running. there is definitely something to it. personally i suffered greatly from knee injuries down through the years. I went to the physio for first time in my life about two months ago and she thought i was pronating inwards when running and this was causing the pain. She recommended that i try temporary orthotics and see if it made a difference. It did and i subsequently got customised orthotics and have not looked back. I only wish i had done this years ago.

Training tonight?

Ya, seeing as i’m going travelling i’ll be relying on plain out and out running to stay fit, but don’t want to get injured. I should have gone the foot doctor years ago as well. I have actually changed the way i run myself, pushing slightly inwards on both feet. Its taken a long time for it to become the natural way for me to run, but i’m now faster at 34 than i have ever been in my life. I believe orthotics would have solved this way back, but it didn’t seem important/occur to me back when it would have made a real difference.

What would experienced runners think of treadmill running? Presumably it is similar enough to road running?

Buy a Wii Dunph

So you’re dead against it in other words Kev?

Anyone who’d waste money on a treadmill is a moron. You are not a moron Dunph are you?

I’d hope not Kev but equally i wouldn’t be “wasting money” on a treadmill as you put it. If i could use this treadmill free of charge what would you say then? Are they a waste of time?