dunph,
Kev is right. No excuse for a lad using a threadmill, especially at this time of year. If you are interested in doing a bit of running, you should check out the coach to 5k plan. here is one, but there are many more http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/181.shtml
Ran a 10k in Ennis this morning. Clocked in at 49 mins. Happy enough as got caught in a bit of traffic at the start.
Ran with headphones today for the first time, a great job in my opinion. Dont have to be listen to lads panting and puffing with their tongues hanging out.
In fairness the people of Clare are as friendly as you’ll meet, though I had a Fr Neil Horan type moment when as a rounded a bend around Rossleaven an eledery lady ran across in the road in front of me and she waving a Saffron & Blue flag??? She vanished down a small boreen, Biddy Early perhaps?
Anyway, for any of ye who give a shit here was my running playlist… in this order.
- Neighborhood #1 - Arcade Fire
- For Tomorrow - Blur (An epic tune, I’d run to the moon during the last 3 minutes of this tune)
- Not Even Jail - Interpol (Nothing like a song about lad trying to quit cocaine to give perspective)
- Andy, You’re A Star - The Killers
- Radioactive - Kings Of Leon
- Up The Bracket - The Libertines
- Beds Are Burning - Midnight Oil (This didnt sit right at the time… not a great choice)
- Anyone’s Ghost - The National
- Nirvana - Spank Thru
- A song for the dead - Queens of the Stone Age
- Zero - The Smashing Pumpkins
- Rebellion (Lies) - Arcade Fire (Think I finished to this song, cant remember much).
- Take You On A Cruise - Interpol
Great list KP.
Always believe music you listen has to be music you really like. It doesn’t have to be fast or dance or techno or whatever some people think. Its all about rhythm and getting into your own pace.
Yeah, agreed Kev.
For example… up the bracket… a cunt of a song really and meant fcuk all to me as the sun beat down on my sweaty lobster forehead
bravo sir, respectable time and commendable playlist
Was that the Clare Crusaders 4C’s challenge?
That’s the one Runt.
Race was at 10am. Ennis is less then 30 mins from my house. I was showered, lunch eaten and back rising walls with the ould fella by Noon. Tough cunt like… B)
[quote=“Kinvara, post: 63459”]
How did it go? Good numbers? I did a small bit of work for them in relation to it.
Went very well. Very well organized, they used the CBS hall for registration, the county council car park was used for parking and the start and finish line was right outside the CBS. You couldn’t ask for more really.
Plenty food after too.
I’d didn’t know much about the charity side of it until yesterday but its nice to know the 20 Euro is being but to some good.
Good running there KP; Anything under 50min is decent. Nice playlist too
Some of the events don’t allow runnners run with i-Pods as they can cause problems.
People can zone out and are liable to do something silly.
well done KP, good running. was away for a few days and ran 13 miles this morning in 1hr 40 mins. my achilles are really sore lately, think i will reduce the mileage on my runs.
[quote=“W.B. Yeats, post: 63462”]
Good running there KP; Anything under 50min is decent. Nice playlist too
Some of the events don’t allow runnners run with i-Pods as they can cause problems.
People can zone out and are liable to do something silly.[/quote]
was going to mention this. they were banned for ballycotton 10. the logic is that a lad with music on may not hear a runner behind and could easily step into his ‘lane’, causing injury to both.
They were not allowed in Connemara when I did it 09 either, it makes sense really I suppose. However I found it takes the boredom out of the run and keeps the demons at bay.
Mate of mine ran the 10k in 37 minutes yesterday, serious fcuking time. Fair play to him.
If I can do a sub 45 minute 10K by Sept I’ll be happy enough.
FP, you were doing serious mileage there for a few weeks from some of your posts, no harm to take it handy for a few days between runs. Have you anywhere you can run on grass? I do Ballybrit race course during the week and it takes a bit of pressure off the legs.
Fenway
13 in 1:40 for training is very good- you’d expect to knock 5 min off that for a race; that puts you at around 3.30 for a full marathon- a good time for a regular punter
If you are just running by yourself I’d advise joining a club because with a bit of event specific training you’d knock minutes off your times.
Are you training for anything in particular at the moment?
I ran 10km in 47.30 on Saturday- it started as a slowish run and then I decided to crack on, the last km or 2 was tough. I’d be doing very well to bring it home in 45/46 in a race though as I don’t have it in my legs at the moment. I’m dreaming of knocking a min and a bit off my 5k time to get me under 20, to achieve my first and only running goal so far.
no event in mind, just running for running sake alone. Have done a 43 min 10k on my own, aiming to do a sub 42 min by end of summer. KP, 37 mins is serious running by your buddy.
Great time WBY. Its not as easy to shave time off as you’d think is it…
I see alot of advice on various website about speed training which enables you to cut your time. I have never built this into any of my sessions but it obviously works.
If you wanted to go sub 45 I wonder is it a case of improving your pace all through from start to finish or is it better to start slow and gradually increase?
Say over 6 miles would you be better doing this…
8.5 / 8.0 / 7.5 / 7.5 / 7.0 / 6.5
Or this…
7.5 / 7.5 / 7.5 / 7.5 / 7.5 / 7.5
[quote=“Kinvara, post: 63468”]
better to do later and if your feeling good can up the pace in second half.
Fair play to ye. I would be shattered after driving 10k.
I’ve decided that exercise is bad and I’ll be the big guy in the pub when I’m 60.
I’m ok with this.
And by “60” I do mean “38”.
Yours in tubbyness,
thats some funny shit right there