The Pretend Fitness Thread

At the end of the dingle adventure race, I was fucked. I couldn’t look at the soup they were giving out. Instead I drank the can of ice cold tom creans lager they were giving out at finish line. Was so good I went back up and convinced the girl to give me another. One of the lads went up five times

A good packet of O Donnells cheese and onion was part of my recovery from one race and worked a treat. These nutritionists haven’t a clue what it’s like to be an on-the-ground athelete

you need the salt, I have a bacon and cabbage for the dinner later, I’ll have 3 more of these now and thats it

An old lady brought my pal in for a cup of sugary tea and a few biscuits on the route this year such was the bother he was in

That never happened

Ha! Would have been a good story though

It did happen really. He will never live it down. He finished it after as well.

Its quite likely the replacement of salts and carbs is good for you.
Its why you would see pizza with an assortment of cured meats in dressing rooms after team sports games regularly.

What you eat for 30/40 mins after intensive exercise is largely irrelevant as long as it has a mix of carbs, protein & fats

When I am doing anything over 15 I’d have a few sachets of salt with me, its a game changer when it comes to cramp prevention, i’d ate one at the start and then depending on how hard you are sweating one every 6 or 7 miles

Beer is an electrolyte. absolutely, yes.

Jaysus. I wouldn’t mind only you don’t pass too many houses on that route. Must have been just after the mountain

how long is that? i like the sound of it

48km - half cycling. Doesn’t sound long but Mount Brandon is a killer.

http://www.dingleadventurerace.com/dingle-adventure-race-full-kerry-ireland-course.html

did you ever run connemara? that Ulta looks good, same day as London though, maybe next year, if I haven’t passed away

Slow long runs help your body to get used to burning fat as a source of energy. At a faster pace, you use glycogen as your energy source. This is fine for races up to about 90 minutes. Glycogen stores are finite however. That is one of the reasons athletes hit the wall in a marathon if they haven’t got their training and nutrition on the day right. I’m unsure of the benefit to @caulifloweredneanderthal in running 5km extremely slowly.

You’d need to enter a year ahead anyway. Grand if the weather holds. Misery if it doesn’t.

Only starting at 5ks cos my ankle is recovering from ligament damage - took nearly two months off running. Just trying to get used to the concept of this Zone 2 stuff.

I never wear a heart rate monitor as I found them uncomfortable but the whole theory of slow long runs (about a minute or so slower than marathon pace) definitely helped me improve times.

Mind that ankle.

My first time wearing the HRM running, I had to take my shirt off underneath the bridge on the Condell Road as the thing wasn’t on tight enough, and was falling off me. Got a few honks from passers by…