Had a go on the roller this evening at physio- it was much firmer than I thought it would be.
She said its best used on the calves- not as good on hamstrings
Apparently there is another yolk- The Stick (although I don’t know what that lad is doing on the website) that’s good for other muscle groups
A rolling pin would do the same job I reckon.
A buddy was actually telling me about ‘the stick’ the other day. Fortunately my hamstrings never give me bother. I would be more concerned about calves and achilles and foam roller may be beneficial in this regard. Since ive changed my runners to ‘neutrals’ and got my orthotics, i’ve being pretty much injury free, thank god.
Day 1 of the training last night 7.2 km in 36.30 . Happy enough with that.
Nutrition wise what do Ye recommend - pre run and post run
A fist full of nails
is killnascully the cause for this twee humour?
No, I just wanted you to hurt yourself
Fist, the length of a pitch is 140-150 max, the width 30-40. Unless ye were going right into the corners Which is generally hazardous to good safe running in a GAA field) then i can’t see it being even 400. But anyway, most Senior teams would have a good base of course, but you would have to build up from the start of the year, every year as the 2-3-4-5 months off that they have off a field would affect a large number of players.
Starting with 400 M runs is too long IMO. To be honest i would never have a team do more than 2 x 400 M runs in any one session, its completely unnecessary to do much more as the most you’d ever run in a football match is 80-100 M in one run, the 6 inside players would never get anywhere near that. So even with severe overload 200’s are all you need, and they will build great stamina as well.Quality over quantity is key. I would start with a 1:2 recovery ratio and work to a 1:1 ratio on 200’s. The coach is either behind the times or a complete bluffer. He is wasting good footballing time, where with good conditioned games you can get alot of your conditioning done as well.
WBY & Fenway - I’m finding the roller and a baseball brilliant for me these days. I also pre-hab with them and i think this is having a great effect. My warm up before training is now 20 Mins for any running based training and about 15 for any strength work.
Roller works well for me on hamstrings but great altogether on IT band. The ball (others use tennis ball) works brilliant on calves and Achilles. That and the recovery session from the Ryan Giggs Yoga have made a world of difference. It has helped me change my mind on warm downs.
Food and water should help.
Have you ever set foot on a GAA pitch??? try doubling that figure mate
I’ve run many a wire to wire, maybe ours is a bit tighter, but not much more i’d say. Maybe i’m mis judging a little.
Tha main point is about the training anyway, not the diameters of the pitch.
there’s no way your pitch is only 40 meters wide. It would be at least 65/70m
I’d say you are misjudging a lot
http://www.gaa.ie/co…specifications/
oh and your pitch won’t have a diameter unless it;s a circle.
Dont take it out on me because of your partially disfigured face and oversized head.
He possibly hasnt mate, be patient with him. He tends to spend his time on the sideline IIRC. it’s probably hard enough to judge diameters from there.
Jaysus i am. But we are definitely under the spec so, i can be certain of that.
KIB Man - are you going to do the Balmoral Burn?
ah Kev
i dunno what kind of indisiplined show your running but up here if we cut the corners we do an extra lap.
I haven’t looked at the GAA regs but reckon a pitch is very close to 400m- Somewhere between 130 and 140 in length and around 80 in width…
Don’t be hard on Kev lads- he’s actually giving ye decent enough advice even if he’s off on the distance around a pitch
did a 10km run in 40mins 20secs tonight or 6.31/mile. splits as follows:
mile 1 - 6.59
mile 2 - 6.34
mile 3 - 6.44
mile 4 - 6.30
mile 5 - 6.20
mile 6 - 6.09
.2mile - 5.40
confident that i’ll do sub 40 mins soon. pretty sure i could have done mile 7 at sub 6.20 pace.
i don’t think anyone doubts kevs good advice, most were just enjoying his pitch width dimension, i mean if he just thought about it for a second he would have realised he was short of the mark.