The Pretend Fitness Thread

Rolling pin, sliotar, cricket ball.

How long for?

I use a foam roller. I do 20 rolls straight and 20 on each side of calf. Made a huge difference

Thanks fella

Cyclists of tfk what is better to get the fitness up. A long cycle a couple of times a week or a shorter one every day? I’ve been doing between 20-40 km every odd day since the start of last week. Was going grand but then did two 30km plus rides last Friday and Saturday evening. I was bollixed all day Sunday. Did around 20k this evening and feeling grand. Would I be better off taking a break tomorrow or am I good to go again ?

A run

My knees aren’t able for road running.

Very impressive keeping all that within 2km of your house

What you’re doing is fine for now. Try and think more around time. One hour, the 1:15, 1:30 and so on. With the 2km radius loops that should be easy enough. Keep it up, gets easier the more you do. And every other day is :ok_hand:

Laps of the Phoenix park are allowed are they not!

You’re Michael D?

No harm getting out on the bike so, ya roundy little hoor

I used to love the astro league there on a Tuesday night ten years ago. @The_Most_Infamous with another couple of goals in the Echo the following week. :grin:

What ?

Within 2km ?

Do you understand shapes?

With no hurling training for a good while, iv taken up the running.
How would ye schedule a week of running?
Iv asked people before and they said you run hard one day and handy the next day, would that be the way?
And do ye do for recovery? Thanks.

There are a few athletes on here - me, @fenwaypark, @Spidey, @anon78624367, @backinatracksuit, @TreatyStones for example.

I think 4-5 runs per week is ideal with 2 days off. Mix it up between a short 5km or so run when you’re going close to full pelt, a longer but slower endurance run and then some speed work, e.g. fartlek type stuff on, say, a pitch.

You could essentially do 10-15 laps by sprinting the pitch lengths, jogging one end and walking the other. The jogging/walking bits let you get your breath back before the next sprint.

Or you could do some hill sprints - these are more for fat people like @Thomas_Brady getting back into things after not working out in ages.

Have you a goal? Or just getting out for air? — if you want to maintain fitness for hurling you’ll have to do different kinds of running or at least keep some kind of strength work up as long distance running (even within 2 km boundary) can wear down muscle that you’ll want for speed/ jump/ change of direction etc. on the field… I’d do mix of 5/10ks and leave it at that … get some of your own fitness work in between them -

It’s not easy being a breast feeding dad.