The School, College & University Competitions Thread (another thread gone west)

Only saw the first half as I had to go to a big meeting.

Galway won 1-18 to 1-14 I see, they looked better from what I saw. Alex Connaire and Conor Walsh the best I’ve seen in that half.

UL down a few bodies but Bryan O’Mara and a few others are huge losses.

Connaire is a good yoke. Galway really need him and McGlynn to step up.

Call Me Limo GIF by Spiegelworld

He was a super minor. Development seemed to stall then for a while but he seems to be back playing really well at the moment.

Ye had (and still have) some outstanding minor hurlers over the last 5 or so years.

A good run into the fitzgibbon could do wonders for the development of those guys who really missed out at 20s level.

https://twitter.com/Score_Beo/status/1740817176087724195?t=LsQBN_avbQP6OGXI-AoL7Q&s=19

Billy is going to have to work a miracle to knock that College outfit into shape.

Are they the Final FINAL panels?

Hercules, Ethan Doherty etc not named for UUJ.

Irrespective of whether it’s gaa or rugby I presume any second level school worth their salt will be getting in some warm weather training ahead of the return to school next week a La these lads in Villamoura?
https://twitter.com/pbcrugby/status/1742896182798463125?s=46&t=XMZdESTCbNS7rhe_MQ9yEQ

Fuck sake

Clubber.

I’ll flick on the Ard Scoil game if i can.

Big shock there tonight.

https://twitter.com/TUDublinCCGAA/status/1620927392603856897?t=8CLzmcgfkV5zTlSalFOxSQ&s=19

Was Luke Swan more highly-rated as a hurler one time @Spidey?

He was equally as good in both but probably had a few more eye catching high scoring performances in the hurling, notably scoring a hat trick v Kilkenny minors one year but football is his no1 now.

All Harty Cup QFs on Clubber; some service

You’d hope lads would dig into their pockets and support it.

Results

Nenagh CBS 2-16 CBC Cork 0-6
Midleton CBS 2-11 Charleville CBS 1-20
Ardscoil Ris 0-17 John the Baptist Hospital 0-13
St Flannans 1-17 Thurles CBS 2-21

Semifinals

Nenagh CBS v Charleville CBS
Thurles CBS v Ardscoil Ris

Hugely enjoyable game in Mallow. Charleville were outstanding, won every 50/50 ball in the second half and looked like they wanted it more. They were very accurate when they needed to be.

I couldn’t get over the tactics of Midleton in the second half whej things were going against them. Consistent use of the short ball in Winter conditions was inevitably broken down almost every time by Charleville. When you have Barry Walsh in the half forward line, this becomes even more puzzling.

Was it 13 Cork minors Midleton have? Beaten up a stick and Charleville missing their best forward.