The School, College & University Competitions Thread (another thread gone west)

2 draws now for Mary I - are they out or have they another group game left? Hannon was centre back for Mary I v Limerick in the Waterford Crystal and also in their first Fitzgibbon Cup match so I’d guess he was positioned there again today,.

I hope Limerick don’t end up playing him at number 6. Leave him up front where he’ll wreak most damage.

Any other Fitzgibbon results from today?

[quote=ā€œdodgy-keeper, post: 665270ā€]2 draws now for Mary I - are they out or have they another group game left? Hannon was centre back for Mary I v Limerick in the Waterford Crystal and also in their first Fitzgibbon Cup match so I’d guess he was positioned there again today,.

I hope Limerick don’t end up playing him at number 6. Leave him up front where he’ll wreak most damage.

Any other Fitzgibbon results from today?[/quote]

DCU gave UCD a bit of a fright before going down by 5 or 6 points. Only a point in it with a couple of mins left. The margin flattered UCD apparently.

Yeah…caught some lovely ball in the first half.

They are still in it as GMIT, who they play next, drew with Nuig. The group stands - ucc 3 points, Mary I and Nuig 2 points, and gmit 1 point.

It may not have been Hannon who got the goal, Creegan’s daughter had told me he did but I’m hearing it was Luke O Farrell formerly of UCC.

Some cunt called Niall Moyna won’t promote Gaelic games any more because you can’t play lads who spend more than 6 years in college in the Sigerson.

saw that Fagan. Difficult to square what Professor Moyna is saying today with what he said here!!

http://www.breakingnews.ie/sport/burnout-report-proposes-u-19-championship-331429.html]http://www.breakingnews.ie/sport/burnout-report-proposes-u-19-championship-331429.html

The GAA survived without him and DCU before DCU ever came on the scene so if he sticks to his guns in his statement today - the GAA will manage okay

Moyna is nothing but a mouth piece

Lot of sense being spoken here. If ever there was a cunt that can FOAD its that cunt Moyna.

Anyone know how Carlow went against CIT?

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=185141]http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=185141

This statement by the professor is rather bizarre . The man is not going to promote GAA in his classes anymore ā€œand I mean thatā€ he goes on to say. I thought the college administration should have a say on what is promoted in a third level course and what is promoted in a course should not be influenced by a decison on a sporting matter. A decision on the elegibility of players for a 3rd level sports competition decides the content of whats students are thought!!

What’s this fella a doctor of? He sounds a right pig ignorant thick cunt.

His petty ā€œwell if I’m not going to get my way, I’m going to ruin it for everyone elseā€ attitude is extremely childish

Niall is a Professor in the School of Health and Human Performance and a member of the Centre for Preventive Medicine in DCU. He received his masters degree from Purdue University, Indiana, USA and Ph.D.from the University of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA. He completed a three year National Institute of Health Post Doctoral Research Fellowship in immunology at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center. He was Director of the Clinical Exercise Research Laboratory in the Division of Cardiology at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Centre and later moved to Connecticut to take a position as a Senior Research Scientist in Nuclear and Preventive Cardiology at Hartford Hospital

College competitions are pretty irrelevant in the grand scheme of things but, I must say, I completely agree with the rules brought in by the great Nickey Brennan regarding eligibility for these competitions. You had some utter fucking gimps playing Sigerson at the age of 30+ before. Go and get a job, you dopes. This rule prevents lads from playing in the competition after a load of course and college hopping and I think it’s splendid indeed.

Thinly veiled I have a lot of degrees in performance enhancing substances.

PJ Ryan was paying in the goals for Carlow yesterday for fuck sake. He is 35 if he’s a day.

I believe a former TFK astro player was an example of your point above, playing for his college in the early 90’s and then again in the early 00’s.

What DCU are at though is horsehit. Pretty much doing an NCAA recruitment style drive and effectively paying off students in the same manner as there with the gifts and incentives.

You had the likes of Appendage fannying around in one college before going off and winning Fitzgibbons elsewhere. It was patently ridiculous - sure he’s barely qualified as an accountant now and he’s pushing on 40.

Good call, Minor in 95. Therefore will be 36 at some stage in 2013

You can make allowances for kilkenny lads being that bit older going to college surely. Or any individuals who don’t have the wit to move out of the midlands

Sigerson lecture fails to convince

Niall ā€˜The Incredible Sulk’ Moyna is at it again. Around this time last year the DCU football manager accused Jim McGuinness of not caring about Martin McElhinney’s education because the Donegal boss had taken the outlandish step of asking the player to play for his county rather than his college one weekend.

This time round Moyna is even crosser. And even sillier, reacting to the decision by third-level GAA authorities to refuse Cork’s Aidan Walsh and Mayo’s Michael Boyle permission to play in the Sigerson Cup for DCU because they didn’t fulfil the eligibility criteria by ranting, ā€œMichael Murphy is going to be a PE teacher, so is Paul Flynn and Aidan Walsh. Why should they promote Gaelic games if that is the way they are going to be treated?ā€

He went on with reference to Walsh, ā€œI certainly won’t be encouraging him to promote Gaelic games and I mean that. In my class from now on, I have no intention of promoting Gaelic games.ā€

Ah diddums.

Seeing as Niall Moyna doesn’t see why Michael Murphy, Paul Flynn and Aidan Walsh should promote Gaelic games, I’ll try and explain it to him. Because the game has been good to them. Because it’s given them enjoyment since they were kids. Because it’s enabled them to win All-Ireland medals and All Stars and enjoy the admiration of their counties and their country.

And because, most importantly, by promoting Gaelic games they will be saying thank you to the guys in their clubs, in Glenswilly and Fingallians and Kanturk, who passed on the gift of Gaelic football and hurling to them when they were kids and, unlike Niall Moyna, did this work without hauling in a large salary for doing so. Yet in the weird and wonderful world of Niall Moyna all that Murphy and Flynn and Walsh have got from the GAA is rendered unimportant by the fact that their manager didn’t get his way the other day. Which can only lead us to believe that Niall Moyna thinks he’s a very important man indeed, perhaps more important than the GAA itself.

As for his threat to stop promoting Gaelic games in his classes? I think the GAA might survive this calamity, don’t you? You might think that there’s an inconsistency between Moyna’s stated reluctance to promote Gaelic games and his continued presence as manager of DCU in this year’s Sigerson Cup. An unkind explanation would be that it’s not Gaelic games he’s promoting in that competition, it’s himself.

The most worrying thing is that Moyna claims Michael Murphy mentioned the possibility of giving up after the decision went against Walsh and Boyle. The man from DCU’s tantrums are ultimately his own business but it’s a pity to see him getting players involved in them. Even if Murphy did say that, Moyna should have refrained from using a much younger man, who presumably wouldn’t quit the Donegal set-up in a million years, just to make a debating point.

Twelve months ago, Jim McGuinness described Moyna’s comments as ā€œpure nonsenseā€. Say what you like about the Niallster, at least he’s consistent.

[quote=ā€œChocolateMice, post: 665273, member: 168ā€]They are still in it as GMIT, who they play next, drew with Nuig. The group stands - ucc 3 points, Mary I and Nuig 2 points, and gmit 1 point.

It may not have been Hannon who got the goal, Creegan’s daughter had told me he did but I’m hearing it was Luke O Farrell formerly of UCC.[/quote]
Hannons shot was saved and the rebound touched in by the corner forward.