The schools

Who is already qualified and deliveries thousands of flu vaccines already

Insurance
Indemnity
Unions

Legislation can deal with all of it.

The thing is if it was an Ebola type virus we’d not be debating the niceties and we’d be lining up arms.

Those are three excuses.
In a country where people cannot work, or meet, or go for a swim or to the pub, or run in a group, and people are apparently dying daily from the disease, the state can simply override all three.

If Covid and ebola ever mate, youd take a jab off Larry Murphy if you had to.

why dont we get GPs and pharmacists and nurses/care specialists, ie people who are already trained and already have facilities to take people in to do vaccinations, on board to do them before trying to get some random teachers and schools to do it.

@flattythehurdler is a solutions guy
@gilgamboa is a problems guy

Well it depends on how quickly you want it done, and how frequently.
I was under the impression that it was and is a crisis.

Whoa there horsey that makes too much sense

There is no shortage of vaccinators as far as I am aware. You are trying manfully to solve a problem that doesn’t exist

Some lads will always find excuses

Great news the army and the navy are putting all their medical personnel forward to do the vaccinations also.

Lads, we could have half the country ready to vaccinate but there’s fuck all they can do if the supplies haven’t come yet. Our EU status locks the amount we’ll get so I don’t see why there’s a mad panic to have people ready if we’ve nothing to vaccinate them with.

I’m enjoying watching your toys fly out of the medical pram

As foretold by Laz schools for special needs, bar post primary, to reopen next week.

I’ll believe it when he’s walking in the door of the school and that’s been my view all along. I;d be pleasantly surprised if he’s going back this week or in the short to medium term. The unions are trying to pull every trick in the book to scupper it.

The truth is that a skeleton staff would manage most special schools as the attendance will be extremely low, pupils could be reassigned different rooms in the short term etc

But common sense is rarely applied to officialdom

I’ve a 6th yr leaving cert kid doing his virtual classroom effort atm you’re right it’s not the same at all, feckin disastrous tbh.
He’s doing all higher except for mathematics so he’s fairly motivated but I think he’s bloody struggling, his teachers are grand but trying to be connected to kids in Bishopstown, Blarney, Carrigaline Ballinhassig, Ballincollig etc given our counties inadequate broadband is definitely hurting some, ours is fine, but his mates may as well be on dial up, leaving cert kids need to be in a room with a teacher to get the maximum benefit in this important year of their lives,
This particular leaving cert year has missed so much that a written exam is out of the question I hope, as all the weekend study time in the world won’t make up for lost class time

This teaching lark is a piece of piss lads.