The schools

I was strongly disagreed with the other day for saying that @backinatracksuit’s colleagues who willfully refused to return to work should lose their wages while they do so.

What makes teachers more precious than Gardai, the army etc,

Transmission amongst kids is next to none. They need to get on with it, stories of disadvabted kids ending up in ICU would break your heart with hair lice of all things,

They need to do the right thing.

I wouldn’t know enough about it to comment like that but the reason a portion of people are extremely scared of the going back to work is because of the fear the media are desperately trying to create.

So should the Gardai pack it in over the virus as well?

The teacher unions need to be told where to go. Its serious for the most vulnerable kids in society who rely on school for basically their 3 meals a day.

Thats my view on it anyway.

The guards were never stood down as far as I’m aware. The teachers were told it was too dangerous before Christmas. Now they are being told it’s safe.

It can’t be both.

It was never unsafe for teachers.

I know about 15 people who’ve tested positive for covid now. Not a sore throat between them

A fucking joke. Tell your teacher buddies to fuck back to work.

I’m annoyed at the real damage been done to kids who rely on going to school for some semblance of well being.

How teachers cant do a job like poor Dunnes and Tesco workers is beyond me. I know its the union, but its sickening carry on.

I know a fella in his middle 30s fit as a butchers dog ended up in cuh

Surely a butcher’s dog would have a terrible diet?

Get your main point but comparison a bit unfair. guards aren’t expected to spend 6 hours a day, 5 days a week indoors in a single room with kids from 30 different bubbles. I can understand where the concern comes fro lm in that instance.

At the same time, they should be on reduced rates to the PUP same as everyone who aren’t turning up to work. These zoom classes are of little to no value and schooling should be kicked down the line until it can happen in proper situation again. If that bleeds into summer holidays, so be it.

What happened mate?

Hardly just covid.

Couple of lads are on a wind up to be fair.

Zoom classes are very much of use. Not a patch on the real thing but still vital. Can you imagine the furore if they said kids would be at school during the summer? I’d say youd have less than half the class turning up…

This is madness.

Sure they are managing it in the North. Could we get some teachers from them in exchange for the paramedics?

Our lot are blaming planning planning… just get on with it, come up with a rota FFS

They’re now bullying Adam Harris (an aside he was on Claire Byrne last night jeez he has a very light diagnosis? )

Less than half the class are currently turning up for zoom classes. They’re present alright but not tuned in. listening to it, teacher is pushing shit up hill trying to get engagement.

Yeah, just covid. Got a turn and was stuck to the bed. Couldn’t breath, they’d to get him an ambulance. He’s on the mend now thankfully

Good to hear, it does seem to affect people differently to put it mildly.

Crazy the variance in symptoms that I’ve heard,

Not withstanding that, the government need to open the schools asap I think.

I’ve been happy all along to take my chances, I’d rather be in work 100%. I don’t live with anybody who would be classed as vulnerable and I’m a reasonably young heathyish fella,
But it’s crazy that people ignore the fear that many teachers in special ed would have for themselves and their loved ones.
TYeaching in special ed is very much hands on close up work, many children are unable or very unwilling to wear a mask, social distancing is practically impossible, I won’t go into specifics but very often there is no attempt to cover sneezes or coughs etc of people sitting a foot away from you, they are being brought to school on buses where social distancing is paid lip service to only while the bus is parked in many instances, kids from numerous classes on each bus. I could go on here but I hope I’ve made enough of a point,
believe me, teachers in general want to teach, many are rightly fearful of returning at the moment. There isn’t a reasonable comparison with a special school teacher and the girl at the checkout in tescos.

As a giver or a taker?

I don’t actually think so. Hardest time of the year for a family to manage primary age kids is summer holidays. Trying to find any manner of camp to fuck them into.

Given that plus the huge amount of missed learning,if schooling bled into summer months this year, I doubt there’d be much pushback from parents. Teachers on the other hand may have a different position

There isn’t a hope in fuck of the teachers working one day extra during the summer