The Seamus Harnedy Appreciation Thread

On this year Harnedy was streets ahead of Conlon in fairness. If you had another free taker Ryan would go though. You would expect Conlon to get back a bit of form next year. The replay will have given him confidence again.

Lehane will be better than Kelly, he has more physical presence and is a better scorer. Kelly will have to become a less fancy (unfortunately) and more consistent hurler to be a great. His basics are so good that if he just concentrates in getting on more ball he’ll be even more effective.

Lehane looks like the All Ireland Finals have given him a Eureka moment, I really am up to this kinda thing.

His interview after the Clare semi final when he was man of the match was a credit to himself and his family.
If he puts in a good winter of training and adds a bit of muscle he will be unstoppable next year.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 856725, member: 273”]On this year Harnedy was streets ahead of Conlon in fairness. If you had another free taker Ryan would go though. You would expect Conlon to get back a bit of form next year. The replay will have given him confidence again.

Lehane will be better than Kelly, he has more physical presence and is a better scorer. Kelly will have to become a less fancy (unfortunately) and more consistent hurler to be a great. His basics are so good that if he just concentrates in getting on more ball he’ll be even more effective.

Lehane looks like the All Ireland Finals have given him a Eureka moment, I really am up to this kinda thing.[/quote]
Re Lehane, he had one good club game playing on a chap nobody ever heard of. Let’s not get ahead of ourselves and let’s see if he could do something similar on a regular basis for the county

One good club game?? He also scored something in the region of 1.12 in the quarter final against Bishopstown.

Dumb. And he was doing the same in the fitzgibbon last year.

Lehane played a couple of good games for Cork. He was more than decent in both finals. He seems to be growing in confidence. He was superb in every game since the finals, albeit at a lower level, it’s showing maturity and consistency.

It would be great for him and Cork were Midleton to go a few rounds of the club championship. They’ll have an advantage at home and a week off against the Clare Champions.

this is the “Seamus Harnedy appreciation” thread, not the “pick on Lehane” thread

Fagan O’Dowd is the only person who has picked on Lehane. The rest of us knowlegeable hurling folk have issued rebuttles against his incorrect statement. We are standing up for Lehane against such a scurrilous attack on his undoubted hurling ability. As Rafa famously said “lets talk about facts”.

Outside of Canice Picklington, Horgan is the best inside forward in the country

Lets put some perspective on this debate which are based on facts.
Club games in Cork don’t count, the standard is average at best.
Tony Kelly will be voted senior HOTY at 19, led his under age group to Munster and AI u21 honors
Lehane needs to concentrate on cementing his position on a average Cork team who have won nothing

I didn’t pick on him. I just pointed out some pertinent facts.

[quote=“Kid Chocolate, post: 856915, member: 553”]Lets put some perspective on this debate which are based on facts.
Tony Kelly will be voted senior HOTY at 19, led his under age group to Munster and AI u21 honors
Lehane needs to concentrate on cementing his position on a average Cork team who have won nothing[/quote]
I’d say there will be plenty of perspective coming from Clare people when it comes to hurling over the next few years alright.

The stupid cunts are already annoying me

A,He wasn’t better this year. B, physical presence counts for fuck all if you’re consistently scoring in games like Kelly was this year. C, Kelly will get stronger as he matures also.

Kelly was so far ahead of Kelly this Season i cannot really understand you’re thought process on that statement above. As @Fagan ODowd pointed out lads are creaming themselves over a very very club performance by Lehane, where as Kelly was outstanding throughout a whole Inter County calender year. There is no comparison between the 2 based on 2013 viewing.

[quote=“Kid Chocolate, post: 856915, member: 553”]Lets put some perspective on this debate which are based on facts.
Lehane needs to concentrate on cementing his position on a average Cork team who have won nothing[/quote]
Average Cork team who had Clare beat in the first game all the same!

Actually I just realised it was kev who made the Kelly v Lehane comparison

FFS , ye still don’t get it. There’s no point

What’s to get? are you saying Cork are an average team? are Clare a team of super stars from 1 to 15? Because there was fuck all between them for a finish.

Dumb indeed but then again what would that lot from across the Youghal bridge know about hurling.:cool::D:p

Lehanes performance in the county final was the greatest individual display in a Cork county final since Brian Corcoran in 1992.Luke O’Farrell has plenty of potential as well.Im not writing him off at all.