I was at a do there recently that went into the early hours at which point a young chap produced a guitar and played a load of songs that though I was familiar with, I had not considered them to be singsong material. But judging by the responseof the other younger attendees these may now be staples of the Sing Song Scene. For someone who was terrorised by incessant renditions over the years of the Boxer, this was a fresh engaging new experience.
I can’t remember them all but he played
Angels, Robbie Williams
Champagne Supernova
Wonderwall
Cigarettes and Alcohol
Hallelujah
The time of your life, that Green Day song.
Cigarettes and Alcohol the only one of those I’ve not heard in a late night sing song. One of the lads I work with does a great version of Rock and Roll kids. A classic.
Seriously, That’s not an easy song to sing, nor is cigarettes and alcohol, most of the others mentioned are easy to sing and can have the chords simplified to make it easy for the guitar hacker like myself, although I wouldn’t play any of them except the green day one which I learned one time.
Got caught at a wedding sing song the day after one time. A friend left every time a song was about to finish so he wouldn’t get called up. He’d come in then about twenty seconds into it.
When it came to my turn, i went for the eurodance mid 90s classic that was Sash’s ‘Ecuador’. It’s only got one word so I was sorted lyrically.
Jesus Christ you’ve basically just listed the entire repertoire of boring killjoy no craic cunts the country over. Is there anything worse than having a good night going on into the early hours and some arsehole pulls out a guitar and starts playing wonderwall or time of your life and expects everyone to be quiet and listen to him? Hallelujah another one. The worst.
Some cunt crooning on with fields of gold or some modern pop shite - I talk away and I don’t give two fucks what anyone has to say.If they want to have a sing song, do it right and fuck off with your boring, done to death, cheese.