The Sport of Kings & Equine Matters šŸ

The Final Fence is probably the only thing that could beat him

lads,

if wincanton goes ahead paul nicholsā€™s ā€œrobin Willā€ has a serious shout in the bumper on the 26th,:pint:

[B][I]Things you might not know about the fabulous Kauto

[/I]1)[/B] He became the first horse to win over 2 million in total prize-money, with 1,898,634 of this made in the UK. Desert Orchid won 654,066 during his career.

2) Kauto Star stands at 16.3hh (1.6m from the floor to the shoulder) and weighs around 520-530kg (81-83 stone).

3) His average speed in the 2009 Cheltenham Gold Cup was 29.4mph. Usain Boltā€™s average speed in running the 100m was 25.42mph.

4) His neighbour and best friend at his stable in Ditcheat, Somerset is Denman. They spend eight weeks together in the paddock over the summer months, together with other stars, Big Buckā€™s and Master Minded.

1. Kauto was at his most upset when Denman suffered from heart problems in 2008 and spent a week away from the stable. He paced his stable for the whole week and only stopped when Denman returned.

2. Kautoā€™s owner Clive Smith made his fortune designing public golf courses and his purple, yellow and green racing colours are taken from the heather-clad scenery of Camberley Heath golf course, where he was once captain.

7) Kauto has raced 21 times in Britain and once in Ireland, winning 15 of these races.

8) He has run over 55 miles and has jumped over 1,500 feet in his racing career in Britain and Ireland; thatā€™s over four times the height of St Paulā€™s Cathedral.

What do lads make of River Leaneā€™s chances in the big race in Limerick on Stephenā€™s dayā€¦

tomorrow marks the beginning of the bet four days racing outside the festival in march. Here are my selections

In the 1.20 at kempton i have a strong fancy for i hear a symphony. formerly with philip hobbs this fella has being transformed since joining the charlie longsdon stable at beginning of the year. he won a grade 2 as a novice at punchestown a couple of years back and is a very well handicap horse in my opinion. trip and ground shpuld be ideal.

in the 1.55 at kemton i like tazbar. the stable won this a few years back with ungaro. he was by far and away the best of these over hurdles with the exception of the much hearld long run. having watched a few of long runā€™s races in france there must be a concern that the likely going will be against him and he represents poor value at about evens.

in the 2.30 binocular is a huge price at 5/4. forget the newcastle run as horses that he beat out of sight in champion hurdle such as sublimity finished in front of him. its also conceivable that he wasā€™nt as ready as he should have been as hes early season target was the boylesport. this together with the lack of pace were contributing factors to his defeat. straw bear and cape tribulation will ensure that the pace will be generous and i see his winning this easily and a short price favourite for champion post race.

In the king george i think that barbers shop is a great price to place at abot 7-2 on betfair. there will plenty of pace on with many confirmed front runners and i can see a barbers running into a place behind kauto.

at leapordstown i really fancy osana to beat sizing europe. his form is better over fences and there was little separating them as hurdlers. sizing has looked a natural over fences (as does osana) but he has won egg and spoon races. i still cant get his runs last year out of my head where he little or nothing for pressure. i feel that osana is a huge price at 11-4 and will back accordlingly.

only bet at limerick will be sportsline.

watch out for last of the leaders in the 1.50 at leop. has his first run since getting handicapped and was given very tender handling in last two runs.

be lucky

Edit:

scratch that there is a thaw, Iā€™m off racing

[quote=ā€œThe Pukeā€]Edit:

scratch that there is a thaw, Iā€™m off racing[/quote]

scratch that again had to turn back on the castelconnell road, fucking ice all over the shop

Despiet only jumping adequately enough that was fairly impressive from long run there in kempton

Super finish thereā€¦So much for binocular and his gears, Go Native cruised up and was lucky to hold on, cracking race

Great race. Go Native is some horse.

Matt Chapman just called Binocular ā€œan awful horseā€. :smiley:

Chapman is very much an alright sort

If Kauto donā€™t win I am going to be down a small fortune

[quote=ā€œThe Dunphā€]Great race. Go Native is some horse.

Matt Chapman just called Binocular ā€œan awful horseā€. :D[/quote]

Ive always thought that AP McCoy aint the jockey to suit Binocular. never seems at ease up on him.

[quote=ā€œThe Dunphā€]Great race. Go Native is some horse.

Matt Chapman just called Binocular ā€œan awful horseā€. :D[/quote]

i done my bollix on binocular today. he never jumped a hurdle today and made one particularly bad mistake, i think 3 out. possibly going right handed isā€™nt ideal. i still think he has a massive chance at march back lefthanded on a galloping track.

no doubt the winner is very very good (much better than i thought) and starluck put up a career best.

its a pity captain cee bee didā€™nt stand up today. you cant say that he would have beaten sizing but it would have being close. anyway roll on march.

[quote=ā€œfenwayparkā€]i done my bollix on binocular today. he never jumped a hurdle today and made one particularly bad mistake, i think 3 out. possibly going right handed isā€™nt ideal. i still think he has a massive chance at march back lefthanded on a galloping track.

no doubt the winner is very very good (much better than i thought) and starluck put up a career best.

its a pity captain cee bee didā€™nt stand up today. you cant say that he would have beaten sizing but it would have being close. anyway roll on march.[/quote]

One thing is for certain, the Champion Hurdle is wide open and has the makings of a hum-dinger

its a pity hurricane fly is possibly gone for year. he really pissed all over go native twice last year. mikeal dā€™arganet may not see a track either this real. a real shame as they were best two novices last year.

iā€™m delighted for noel meade who appears a real gentleman

Whatā€™s the story with him, he has looked like a machine so farā€¦

was entered is a couple of beginner chases over xmas but has being pulled out with a back injury. not expected out till late january. it has all the signs of a ā€˜year offā€™ hope im wrong.

Home for an hour to fodder up before heading out again.
Had a moderately successfuly day at Limerick today. 4 winners (inc Sizing Europe). Backed Rigour Bob Back and Native Clan, had a couple of ā€œgoodā€ bets go astray inbetween but had a nice punt on Noel Meades in the bumper. Had a look at it in the parade ring and it looks a lovely big stamp of horse, did the job with ease despite drifting from an opening showing of 5/4 all the way out to 11/4. I did my business at 5/2 so good result to end to day.

Kauto was immense. Surely his best King George win yet, and without raising a sweat.

:pint:

[quote=ā€œThe Runtā€]Home for an hour to fodder up before heading out again.
Had a moderately successfuly day at Limerick today. 4 winners (inc Sizing Europe). Backed Rigour Bob Back and Native Clan, had a couple of ā€œgoodā€ bets go astray inbetween but had a nice punt on Noel Meades in the bumper. Had a look at it in the parade ring and it looks a lovely big stamp of horse, did the job with ease despite drifting from an opening showing of 5/4 all the way out to 11/4. I did my business at 5/2 so good result to end to day.

Kauto was immense. Surely his best King George win yet, and without raising a sweat.

:pint:[/quote]

well done the runt, hope you made loads:thumbsup: