The Sport of Kings & Equine Matters 🐐

[quote=“The Runt, post: 765692, member: 181”]Best of luck with em Mac. Our girl is shaping up much better recently so we’d be hopeful of getting a day out with her in the next month or so.

Well done on all the super tipping this week[/quote]

Cheers Runt. One of them is a mare too so with a bit of luck we’ll have a few pints before they both run in the Mares Hurdle in March 2015 :wink:

Tried to look at the card for Gowran tomorrow. It was a stressful 3 minutes before I abandoned it.

Well lads.

I notice a few of ye seem to be involved in a couple of National Hunt horses. I know you could spend whatever you like on a horse but what sort of money would one expect to spend on acquiring a young horse and keeping it in training with someone?

[quote=“JBL, post: 766536, member: 1632”]Well lads.

I notice a few of ye seem to be involved in a couple of National Hunt horses. I know you could spend whatever you like on a horse but what sort of money would one expect to spend on acquiring a young horse and keeping it in training with someone?[/quote]

What age are you thinking of acquiring? Buying a 3 year old? Or a horse with a p2p under it’s belt?

Training costs vary a lot as well but you’d want to be accounting for it costing you about €1,200 a month between training, vets, entry fees etc.

[quote=“The Runt, post: 766539, member: 181”]What age are you thinking of acquiring? Buying a 3 year old? Or a horse with a p2p under it’s belt?

Training costs vary a lot as well but you’d want to be accounting for it costing you about €1,200 a month between training, vets, entry fees etc.[/quote]

To be honest, I know very little about the whole scene. I would be thinking along the lines of a 3 year old all right and hoping for the best.

The Land Rover sales are in Goffs in June. That would probably be the biggest sale of horses of that age, but you’d obviously need to have someone with you who knew what they were at. Other than that you could approach a trainer you felt you could trust (there are none by the way) and say you were looking to get involved in a horse and see what he had to offer. The risk of buying a young horse is that they might never even see the track. We bought a 3-y-o in Goffs 2011 and she still hasn’t seen the track.

If there is a few of ye another option might be to lease a horse for a season. Plenty of trainers are offering this now, and it’s a relatively cheap way of getting the experience of owning a racing horse. If you like it, and found the costs manageable then you could look at investing in your own horse the following year.

[quote=“The Runt, post: 766547, member: 181”]The Land Rover sales are in Goffs in June. That would probably be the biggest sale of horses of that age, but you’d obviously need to have someone with you who knew what they were at. Other than that you could approach a trainer you felt you could trust (there are none by the way) and say you were looking to get involved in a horse and see what he had to offer. The risk of buying a young horse is that they might never even see the track. We bought a 3-y-o in Goffs 2011 and she still hasn’t seen the track.

If there is a few of ye another option might be to lease a horse for a season. Plenty of trainers are offering this now, and it’s a relatively cheap way of getting the experience of owning a racing horse. If you like it, and found the costs manageable then you could look at investing in your own horse the following year.[/quote]

Cheers Runt, very helpful stuff. Its probably all a pipe dream anyway. Just following the NH over the Winter makes you really want to get involved in one but it must be so difficult to even get a half decent horse to give you a couple of days out here and there. You certainly wouldn’t want to be expecting any sort of financial return from it I would imagine. Is it a syndicate you are involved in?

Was involved in a couple of syndicates, this latest one is a smaller syndicate.

You can drop me a PM if you want more details on figures etc

JBl, go to France, to a provincial track, and claim a horse out of a claiming race. You’ll get a horse that’s already in training for less than you’d pay for some untested yoke in Ireland, and the ground work has already been done. Plus it’s French bred, all the best jumpers nowadays are coming from France.

[quote=“The Runt, post: 766552, member: 181”]Was involved in a couple of syndicates, this latest one is a smaller syndicate.

You can drop me a PM if you want more details on figures etc[/quote]

Thanks again, won’t be doing anything this year anyway unless I win the lotto shortly! A few years time hopefully.

All sounds good HHDDL but there must be big costs involved in bringing a Horse home from France.

I doubt they are that excessive. There are companies that specialise in horse transport and would bring a few horses at a time.

It will cost you the bones of [SIZE=3]€700-800, which is chicken feed compared to the amount of money you will drop into the animal over the course of it’s life. It will also save you 1000’s in breaking and training as you are getting a 4 or 5yo animal that has been in training and racing since 3yo and well schooled.[/SIZE]

Did you ever do it?

Go for a lease first off. Only a small portion of people who go into horses ever make anything back from it. Leases protects your downside as you don’t have the exposure of buying the horse.

If you want to buy bad horses that lose contact either myself or Mac.

If you want to buy good horses that die contact thedancingbaby

I didn’t see it, but I’m told jockey Eddie Power had some choice words for one of Mac’s bessie mates live on ATR yesterday :smiley:

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=440874119340132&set=vb.100002526428071&type=2&theater

The smiley head on Power. :smiley:

The term ‘‘selling gates out the back of Hiaces’’ never gets old. :clap:

I would like to wish all the best to friend of the forum Count Salazar who will go off favourite in the 1950 at Kilbeggan this evening.

Well?