The Sport of Kings & Equine Matters 🐐

Robbie Power wouldn’t be the smartest.

Galway Hurdle is the most valuable handicap in Europe over jumps according to him. He mustn’t have heard of a certain race run in Aintree every year that he’s won himself before.

Well done Mac and Fenway. Ye picked three of the first five for me.

Faldo I think those jockeys were taking the piss.

Ah lets not be greedy now :smiley:

I reckon this thread has probably paid for Fagans new hip by this stage.

[quote=“Fagan ODowd, post: 810612, member: 706”]Well done Mac and Fenway. Ye picked three of the first five for me.

Faldo I think those jockeys were taking the piss.[/quote]

If you followed Rossom as well you’d have had 4 out of the first 5

Miss United :clap:

What a super mare.

Fair play Mac. Had both of those EW. Winters some operator to win that two years in a row with small string

Good work …

I was on 2 of them mac

Pretty poor Goodwood this year I thought. But in fairness Brown Panther has given connections some good days out.

And what’s going on at Ballydoyle, they seem pretty threadbare at the moment , in comparison with other years.
I think a lot of very expensive horses they have bought recently have proven very average. Two horses I was disappointed with of late were Sir John Hawkins (Henry the Navigator x Peeping Fawn) and Mars…downgraded to group 3 last week at Leopardstown and both very easily turned over while starting hot favourites, we get the usual mumbo jumbo from Aidan, listen, obviously, Joseph said, the lads will decide, listen …punters are an obvious irrelevance and irrition to the Coolmore boys, but lads…no punters…no racing…simples. Coolmore/Ballydoyle need a good PR man or woman, not Ann Marie on the “twitter machine” obviously, look, listen,

Along with the injuries to Kingsbarns, Magician and sadly St Nicholas Abbey things are not firing on all cylinders.
Also I don’t think Joseph should be given the rides on the top horses, he’s a very nice lad and obviously genuine, but he can’t judge pace in a race for toffee and many times in the last two years has either got his mount held up in traffic or left it waaay to late. How long are Tabor, Smith etc. going to set this state of affairs continue.
O’Donaghue and Heffernan are both better Jocks IMO…they know their trade.

hey, ketchup, fuck off with this flat shit

[quote=“H.P Sauce, post: 810800, member: 2044”]And what’s going on at Ballydoyle, they seem pretty threadbare at the moment , in comparison with other years.
I think a lot of very expensive horses they have bought recently have proven very average. Two horses I was disappointed with of late were Sir John Hawkins (Henry the Navigator x Peeping Fawn) and Mars…downgraded to group 3 last week at Leopardstown and both very easily turned over while starting hot favourites, we get the usual mumbo jumbo from Aidan, listen, obviously, Joseph said, the lads will decide, listen …punters are an obvious irrelevance and irrition to the Coolmore boys, but lads…no punters…no racing…simples. Coolmore/Ballydoyle need a good PR man or woman, not Ann Marie on the “twitter machine” obviously, look, listen,

Along with the injuries to Kingsbarns, Magician and sadly St Nicholas Abbey things are not firing on all cylinders.
Also I don’t think Joseph should be given the rides on the top horses, he’s a very nice lad and obviously genuine, but he can’t judge pace in a race for toffee and many times in the last two years has either got his mount held up in traffic or left it waaay to late. How long are Tabor, Smith etc. going to set this state of affairs continue.
O’Donaghue and Heffernan are both better Jocks IMO…they know their trade.[/quote]

The Henry the Navigator crop will fire all around them next season. They were so far ahead for so long that it was inevitable that others would catch up. Bolger getting into the Galileo bloodline was the first mistake they made. Losing Montjeu was also another setback. They’re also focusing massively on the breeding operations in US and Australia due to how lucrative they are so Ireland / UK hasn’t had as much of a focus.

Given how quickly they retired Pour Moi to stud after he won the Derby by a nose hair from a 66/1 shot it shows how desperate they are for another Galileo type stallion. They took Canford Cliffs for a season too which shows desperation more than anything else.

Anyway, enough of that - fuck the flat and all the posh cunts who make a living off it. Bring on the NH season so we can all make a bomb :clap:

I don’t follow the flat, but obviously it piques my interest on an annual basis when the latest greatest horse in the world ever is revealed. However this year I don’t think a single flat race has attracted my attention. Seems to be far from a vintage year for flat followers?

Mac[/USER] and [USER=276]fenwaypark who do we fancy at Galway today?

The bookies ring yesterday was nearly a million quid back on last year :eek:

Not backing today Fagan as it stands. Too many mickey mouse races and flat races. My aim for the coming season is to stop backing for the sake of it and only part with money when I’ve a proper opinion. I’ll endeavour to post as many of them up here as I can.

A horse that a follow a bit and I think could go well today is Murchu.
Racing weight of 10-3, won a novice chase over c & d last year, has 3 wins on Heavy ground and is a very solid jumper.

14/1 with Boyles, I think it’s a great e/w bet

This time of Galway week I’ve always looked out for horses that have raced earlier in the week.

[quote=“TreatyStones, post: 810884, member: 1786”]A horse that a follow a bit and I think could go well today is Murchu.
Racing weight of 10-3, won a novice chase over c & d last year, has 3 wins on Heavy ground and is a very solid jumper.

14/1 with Boyles, I think it’s a great e/w bet[/quote]

If he had a proper trainer I’d agree with you

[quote=“Mac, post: 810875, member: 109”]

Given how quickly they retired Pour Moi to stud after he won the Derby by a nose hair from a 66/1 shot it shows how desperate they are for another Galileo type stallion. They took Canford Cliffs for a season too which shows desperation more than anything else. [/quote]

Pour Moi suffered a bad injury and had to be retired before a tilt at the Arc, another ante-post nightmare for me:oops:

Canford Cliffs was described by Hannon as the best he trained, his defeat of Goldikova backed that up. But the horse has no Northern Dancer blood going back four generations and if successful at stud will be invaluable to Coolmore with their stables of ND broodmares.