The Tennis Thread

I’d say the smart money is on a Medvedev/Zverev final. If the two of them are dumped out it’s really wide open. Berrettini has a nice draw now and he’ll be disappointed if he doesn’t make a SF appearance at least.

Nadal will need the draw to open up for him, if Zverev goes before the QF then he has a chance but I can’t see him beating 3 of the top giraffes in Zverev, Berrettini and Medvedev from the last 8 on a hard court at 35.

I’d be shocked if Medvedev isn’t at the final but he faces a potential banana skin in R2 where Kyrgios awaits. Rublev the only other real obstacle for me.

I’m going to rule out Tsitsipas here and now, he’s a petulant fanny and still hasn’t recovered from shitting the French Open final last year.

Be interesting to see if any players have to withdraw with Covid

Who gives a shit now? Like playing the Munster championship without Limerick this year.

The ATP should downgrade it from Grand Slam status.

Australia needs to be stripped of its Grand Slam.

I’d remove it from history.

Slams won:

Nadal 19
Federar 14
Djokovic 11.

Rafa out there dropping truth bombs :bomb:

It’s only a Grand Slam in name now. No one could seriously consider this a proper slam after this debacle

One of Australian govt lawyers contended that Djokovic could become "an icon of free choice ". Imagine that.
Australia has been airing all its dirty laundry in public these last 2 weeks. In reality a lot longer but sport captures the public imagination. Australias long term reputation and standing has been the only loser here.

I doubt we’ll see a better return of serb from an Aussie over the next two weeks.

They are heinous racists. Their treatment of their natives is abhorrent.

@Chucks_Nwoko is gearing up over on the cricket thread to celebrate Australia Day on 26 January. Is there any other place that still commemorates the day that the genocide of a race of people began?

Joe Biden Reaction GIF by Election 2020

Be some craic if a few players pulled out in protest

I would’ve thought the serb lad Djokovid was due to play would’ve made some noise but radio silence so far. Speaks volumes.

Lads thinking players will pull out in solidarity with Djokovic, lolz :grinning:

Djokovic is possibly the most unpopular player there’s ever been amongst his fellow professionals. They’ll all be delighted over this.

Typical of you really, jumping the gun there. Tell me where in the post I thought players would pull out.