The Tennis Thread

Serena gone. Maya Joint will be on a high after that.

She smoked Serena in the third set

Tsisipas is an awful disappointment to me as a pro, I know fuck all about tennis but will back him here

The GOAT marches on. Looked a bit strange the interviewer standing so far away from him on the court. Is this to prevent the players from catching a virus?

The Canadian number 3 seed who I never heard of before looked impressive tonight. Auger Aliassime. He looks like he has the ingredients to contend

This is a cracking match, Tiafoe v Bublik

I don’t say this too often but come on Osaka. Can’t stand Sabalenka.

Also how the fuck Auger Aliassime seeded 3? I don’t think he has won anything

Delighted Sabalenka is out. Not more screeching and amatuer dramatics

I think I tried watching her play in the French Open but had to turn it off with all the noise.

Djokovic looks to have all but set up a semi final meeting with Sinner.

Moved 2-1 head against Auger-Aliassime and breaks to love in the opening game of the 4th set.

Auger-Aliassime comes back to take the 4th set in a tie-break.

Djokovic as usual citing a myriad of injuries as he starts to falter.

He was very chirpy with the umpire over the roof closing.

5th set tie-break.

I’ve come to appreciate Djokovic a lot more over the last couple of years, his mental strength, his self belief and his relentless are absolutely inspirational. Beating younger and probably better players mostly because of his sheer force of will and determination

FAA really fell apart in that 5th set tie-break. That’s the Number 3 seed taken out.

After 5 hours 15 on court, Djokovic now has to face a well rested World Number 1 and defending champion on Friday in the semi final and if he was to get over that, most likely the Number 2 seed in the final.

How the fuck is Felix seeded 3? Something else from Djokovic hope he can recover in time to play sinner.

That was a great match. I’ve just flicked over to Colombia v Switzerland now for extra times BG the sound of things, didn’t miss much.

Where has this Fery fella come out of?

He has been playing college tennis in the States with Stanford university under the Bryan brothers. He bet Cobolli in the opening round at the Australian Open in January. His family is not short of a few bob and his mother is a member of Wimbledon. He is only really starting out professionally so will see if this just one of those runs or if he will be able to back it up. He was seeded 114 coming into Wimbledon and will be seeded around the top 50 after so will automatic qualification to the other slams. He was just outside that coming into Wimbledon at 114.

Ostapenka is a grand cut of a homely woman. I’d say she’d make shite of some of the lads on here