The Tennis Thread

I’d have shpelt Beor, Beure. Ah smoking the bit of weapon down the Sparch with the bit of munch from the Spax cruising the fanny. The good life :pint:
My abode could be described as Lwr Salthill or Claddagh depending who Im talking to. Where u Clarkey?

Here byes, let’s crush down the wesht like.

I am from Knocknacarra, however when I moved to Dublin, the folks moved to Craughwell. It’s quite inconvenient for going out in town when I’m home and generally I don’t bother me hole.

What age are you Laz? Chances are I played football, GAA or tennis with or against you or went to school with you. Not the biggest place in the world. In fact I saw at least 95% of the Galway people I’ve ever met down at the Fives on the long weekend.

I’ll be the grand old age of 32 this Saturday CC, just got a great Birthday presxent from Fame and Glory at Ascot :pint: .Only evr played hurling really. Knocknacarra isn’t the Bel Air of the olden days but sure beats living with the likes of Bandage I’d imagine.

Happy birthday mate.

Nah Bandage is alright but Jugs is a dickhead.

I think there is no doubt that tennis players were named clarkey. In fact Journal du Dimanche named Nadal specifically as being on the list. Basso and Ullrich got banned for two years for the same thing! There was a coverup but they were involved for sure. A tennis player could gain a significant advantage by using things such as EPO. They wouldn’t be using it otherwise. Might not be as rampant as say cycling ten years ago but clearly is an issue.

Anyone know how Niland got on? Can’t find results or info anywhere

Today’s schedule was badly affected by rain so not sure if the Limerick man has played yet.

Postponed until tomorrow at 10:30

Thanks a lot pal. I had great fun staying up til after 1am with you last night chatting and watching Law and Order SVU.

Limerick man Conor Niland 4-2 up in the first set when rain stopped play AGAIN.

Gas.

I’ve backed Nadal and S. Williams for the respective tournaments this year.

Who ye going for lads?

Djokovic and Li Na.

Didn’t realise the first match had finished. I read they were planning on playing doubles together, I wonder is that happening.

Im pretty sure I remember Jim Courier saying EPO use was widespread in tennis. This would have been about 1998 or 1999.

I disagree with my learned friend Clarkey in that I feel stamina is hugely important in Grand Slams. 7 matches in 13 days or whatever and 5-set ones too. Some of them last for hours. Nadal’s baseline game also requires an awful lot of running. Must be knackering.

To be honest I find it little bit frustrating when people defend defending likes of Nadal and at same time criticise cycling for its doping problem. While there is probably a bigger doping problem in the latter there doesn’t seem any longer to be same culture of ignorance and denial as exists in sports like tennis. Fact Nadal didn’t sue paper for naming him speaks volumes imo.

Ah come of it larry. I’m defending Nadal because there’s no evdience against him. And I’m criticising cycling cheats because they have been done for cheating.

It is also plausible that there may not be a big doping problem in tennis. It’s a bit of a quantum leap to get from there not being any scandals to there being a culture of ignorance and denial.

And the fact that he didn’t sue tells us very little tbh. Wild, wild speculation from you there.