The Ultrarunning Thread

It was even apparent when the cunts were high, youd see them inside in Sir Henry’s huddled in the left hand side towards the front of the stage, chewing the malnourished Jaws off themselves …

Even 90s drugs couldn’t smash the clannishness.

Ultra running is the oldest sport in the world mate, it’s what makes humans great

WTF fuck, every cunt in Henry’s was from Cork, mucksavages wereafraid of their lives to come in on a Thursday or Saturday, they’d be handy wnougjat bullshitting about being in there though

No puking for big Jim Walmsley at the Western States this year. Third time a charm with him breaking the course record in sweltering heat at 14hrs30

Maybe wrong thread, anybody into mountain running? I’ve done a few little ones recently and despite a very nasty fall on Croagh Patrick on Thursday (second time up in the week) I’d like to give it a go again,
I need the right shoes though, what are the best, obviously I absolutely won’t wear anything disgusting on my feet, I saw a nice pair of North face shoes in River deep mountain high in Limerick, is the footwear any good?

This is actually the best thing about cork

I’m going in battle today, its going to be a rough one

Salomon or Inov8 are probably the shoes you need, but it depends on terrain you’re going on. Did you get sorted?

Not yet, I’m in the city so it’ll be the spring now before I get back to the mountains properly, I’ve been looking at shoes though and I like the Inov8, saw nice ones in John Buckley’s.
I’m off out on a longish run shortly, might do close to 15 miles

Did you get on alright last weekend?

Got on grand. The already dodgy ankle twisted 3km in and plodded through the following 23. It’s still pretty fucking painful. Lovely course. Would definitely go back, hopefully in a healthier state

Heard that was a great course alright, fair play for sticking it out,
What was the commotion about the early starters?

Be careful about going too far too soon. 15miles is a fair distance

I did nearly 14, I’d do over 10 every weekend and 4 or 5 three times during the odd weeks when I have to work, not a big deal I’d say

Lads in their 30s/40s flogging themselves to death :rofl:

Don’t think there was any commotion bout early starters. They let people go out an hour early if they want to so there’s two starting times

For lads who’ve maintained a basic fitness level throughout their lives a 15 mile trot wouldn’t take much effort, lads who’ve spent their lives sitting on their holes killing themselves posing in the gym would give me a good chuckle

Some people were pissed off over it, not sure why exactly

Each to their own pal. Some lads like being indoors nice and dry in a badly air conditioned industrial building taking photos of themselves in the mirrors. Running 16 miles isn’t everyone’s cup of tea

Didn’t notice that myself