šŸŒ¬ The Weather Thread part 2

Hereā€¦ Transport yourself back to primary school and save me the energy.

@EstebanSexface, next youā€™ll be telling me that time exists :grinning:

so when the moon pulls on the pacific ocean it creates a bulge there - thatā€™s the bulge on the moon side - do you and Neil think when the Atlantic Ocean is on the moon side itā€™s the same bulge. So the water stays there but the Earth rotates?

I can do no more for youā€¦ Itā€™s a fairly easy notion to graspā€¦ The gravitational pull creates the bulge and fights against the earthā€™s rotation. The earth rotates in and out of these bulges as the earth rotates way faster than the moon.

but the oceans rotate with the earth - otherwise the whole world would get wet

lakes have tides.

Just watch the video.

Stay in the dark ages so.

The bulge moves relative to the gravitational and rotational forces. It isnā€™t fixed.

Woops, the moon doesnā€™t rotate relative to the earth. The same side always faces the earth.

The reason the same side always faces the earth (roughly, not exactly) is the rotation of the moon is the same as itā€™s orbit around the earth, ~27 days. They match because of the earthā€™s gravitational pull on the moonā€™s tidal bulge, over time this slowed itā€™s rotation to match itā€™s orbit.

Yea, I think thatā€™s what I said. Except I donā€™t think thereā€™s any tidal bulge* on the moon.

• Also I donā€™t think thereā€™s any water in the Sea Of Tranquility. Said Iā€™d beat somebody to that smart one.

Thatā€™s informative in fairness.

There was a very good BBC documentary on a few years ago called Do We Really Need The Moon. It covered a lot of stuff but I donā€™t think it mentioned that.

I wonā€™t show ye a picture of the moon. This is a picture or the presenter, the voluptuous Dr. Maggie Aderin-Pococ.

The big one is coming this weekend lads

6 weeks kicking off ?

Weā€™ll do well if its only the 6.

Cold or wind?

The ice is a bollixā€¦ I had to use the old gaff for WiFi today for workā€¦ On the short walk this morning I hit a patch of ice and nearly went flying ā€¦ an incredible piece of composure not to hit the deck. Six weeks of it will be tough going.

I had a few flakes on the car this morning @BruidheanChaorthainn. Is this the start of it?

It might snow tomorrow night