The who is going in to work versus who is (Not)WFH/taking AL tomorrow thread?

A lot of lads will have two toned suits with the jacket worn for zoom calls and the trousers left in the wardrobe for 15 months …

do you buy your shirts in penneys or something?

You’ll have to ladybird that attempt at a put down to me as it’s flown right over my head.

Are you able to close all the buttons on it? I heard you’ve gone as fat as a fool.

I’m like the Tower of Pisa pal.

Happy to belatedly give that the magical 25th like

Morning all. Back on the emergency shift till 5. Them update queries won’t commit themselves.

The WFH has worked really well in our place. We were lucky we had Office 365 rolled out just prior to pandemic.

For 95% of the folk you just trust them to get on with it and meet them at least once a week individually and any project related stuff will have calls a few times a week anyway.

Then there is the 5% that do fuck all in the office and fuck all when they work from home also. If anything the 16 months working from just proved their lack of effort. Teams admin statistics tells the tale.

Monitoring mouse movement is amateur stuff and pure condescending really. There has to be better KPIs for a team. If the project timelines are being met or the KPIs are being achieved then everyone is happy and if you can get those done in 30 our of your 40 hours then noone really gives a fuck if you spend the other 10 hours on TFK or blackeddotcom or whatever (as long as it not on a work device :eyes:).

Back in a hybrid state for past week. It’s the dream really and it will lead to a better society.

You’d want your head examined not to have an electric fan jolting your mouse while you’re reading TFK in the jacks @mikehunt

Yep our spot pays fuckall mind to what you do because it’s heavily automated KPI’s to customer escalations. You’ll get turn asunder by Pankaj before they even highlight an issue these days.

This is cheerful stuff. :smiley:

If lads worked 10 per cent harder when they were supposed to work they’d have 40 per cent more free time.

I took part in a survey of ops guys recently. To the question „will you implement monitoring tools?” 80% replied „No”. And these are guys running decent sized locations. There will always be a couple of tools who listen to the consultants though.

Tell him I was asking for him.

Tis fierce handy for showing high level engagement stats when you are looking for budget for better tools.

Our place went from having no online meetings to having over 120,000 Teams calls in the past 15 months.

I resent the 30 minutes I spend in the car coming to and from work the one day a week I go in.

Jaysus. What’s involved here, total call minutes, % of meeting invites attended, quantity of “fun” GIFs used per week?

Everything :joy:. The basic dashboard gives alot of high level info. Powershell scripts gives you nearly everything.

Some absolute bastard crèche parents seemingly broke the unwritten/unspoken rule and sent their child for a COVID test. The kids have all been coughing/spluttering on rotation for weeks now but everyone’s strategically kept the head down and said nothing. Sure there’s less than a 0.00001% chance of anything untoward happening children from this (cc @mickee321).

Unfortunately parents/guardians received a text late last night from the crèche owner to say there’s been a confirmed crèche case and it will definitely be closed today and possibly for longer pending advice from the HSE. There will be more clarity this morning - the HSE help line was closed last night because there’s absolutely no need for the contact tracing process to be kicked off immediately. These things can wait for normal office hours.

Now I imagine our chap will be designated a close contact but nobody really remembers the protocol anymore. I’ve vague recollections of crèches being closed for 10 days to 2 weeks when cases were confirmed at the height of this. I don’t even think a negative test changes this, as the virus could be hiding in the body for 3-5 days before springing to life.

Of course, he’ll be at home during this spell so it was only right and proper to update our younger fella’s childminder (he’s due to start crèche on 28 June) and she’s not going to be around until the older fella’s COVID status is confirmed.

We’ll therefore have the two lads at home for the next while in a real throwback to March 2020.

FML life.