Sometimes a man has got to go to work and bring home the bacon.
Depends on the type of work. Not everything can be done on Excel, or over a computer.
I look forward to being back at work from September*
- This date could change
Someone I know got caught out on a Teams call recently.
Teams updated for us recently. Before the update if you were presenting and someone messaged you it wouldn’t appear in the bottom corner of the screen. Since the update the message does appear on the bottom of the screen. Assume there’s a setting to change it back.
There was a call with 15-20 people on it. 1 person (Person X) was sharing their screen for the duration of the call and another person would talk when it would be their turn. It was someone else’s turn to speak anyway. We’ll call them person Y.
Someone messaged person X while Y was talking and the message appeared on the screen in the corner. The message was along the lines of “He’s some spoofer”
Call was being recorded too
Jaysus. Hadn’t noticed that, will need to keep it in mind. Used to be in presenter mode you essentially go on Do Not Disturb and no notifications popped up.
@Batigol if you are stuck on a long running meeting againa quick message into the chat like “have a hard stop” or “gotta jump” will get you out, preferably all in lower-case to emphasise that you are multitasking and simply haven’t the time for frivolities like capital letters.
Most days I love dictating things from my island and throwing the eye out the window at a few cows whenever some minion gives an opinion.
Then there are days you need the get in there on the ground and force things.
The crèche is reopening tomorrow after all day 10 second tests came back negative.
My life partner met one of the crèche workers out and about the other day and she inadvertently told her who the Covid case was. She also said the kid was brought for a test initially because she was deemed a close contact to a non-crèche related case. She had no symptoms, was absolutely fine and none of her siblings or parents were positive. So it was probably a false positive all along. The staff member made a comment along the lines of it being great to finally have a case in the crèche and how they were all jealous of their peers in other crèches getting two weeks off for outbreaks earlier in the year.
All’s well that ends well anyway. Our youngest fella will be making his crèche debut tomorrow so neither of them will be at home with us for the first time since March 2020. It’s time to properly enjoy wfh now.
Get working on No3
Ah Jaysus. Did your missus smash her head in?
And I suppose ye’re paying for the crèche for the ten days?
Of course. Force majeure apparently.
Back at work after being off for last few days. Password expired so changed it. Log in, no access to my files, ring IT. Too polite to tell him his English was shit so asked him to type his questions on Teams. I shared my screen and he asked me to type out the drives I’d lost access to. Told him they were the ones with a big red X through them, he could see them cos I shared my fucking screen. He asked me again so a standoff with a lazy Italian and equally lazy Irish bastard ensued until he said he would escalate and we wished each other a nice day. Will keep forum of any updates.
I read yesterday that one of the Creche groups at the centre of a prime time investigation made a €1m pre-tax profit last year. What that industry get away with is scandalous.
You probably have your old credential cached somewhere on the machine.
If you delete that (Start > Credential Manager ), you should get prompted for the new password when you try to access the drive.
You’d want your head examined not to have a single sign-on solution like Imprivata that ensures if you’re locked out of one application you’re locked out of all and you can play Football Manager until it’s sorted.
Being a luddite I’m far from tech savvy but the problem seems to have been related to a recent domain change. Most of the apps/systems we use are still on the old domain so I needed to change password on the old domain as well as the current one. Ye cunts make it as difficult as possible for us to do simple chores.
My ticket has not been resolved. I had to log another one when I couldn’t access certain applications with the new password and Ashutush sorted it for me with minimal fuss and a helpful explanation.
Just heard my life partner on a call in the room beside me mangle disparities and discrepancies.
DISPERANCIES in the numbers.
Absolutely mortified for her.
She’d want to spend less time listening to NPHET and more time expanding her vocabulary listening to Derek McGrath imho.
i presume this means the relationship is untenable going forward. will you keep a kid each or co parent?
You’ve mugged her off good and proper shouting “pelanty” at the TV
If ye have any issues over the weekend lads I’m on emergency response coverage with Kumar till 5pm both days. Salesforce tickets only though.