Things That Are Wrong

I’m basing it on I never rated Corcoran as being anything special. A functional hurler at best imo. 2 of his all stars were dubious, first and last imo. I never got the hype. Just my opinion.

Never had the skill or wrist of a JBM, or the drive and power of a Fenton. A lot of hype for me.

Corcoran is up there with the best. Proved it on the big day. It’s a pity he was out of hurling for potentially his best years and that works against him.

Joe McKenna is a noble man and one of the greats.

Fenton? Power? Fenton was 5’7. It was all about skill and speed with him.

The first All-Star? He was imperious all year? Did you maybe only see the final, where he did dip a little to be fair?

His skill, wrists, power??? What the hell, he was all about that, thats what made him better than other big guys. Thats what made him such a skillful full forward. He won the All-Star the last time for beating Waterford twice.

Of course, as you say, its your opinion. Thats what its all about.

Ah Fenton was a barrell of a man though, he survived in the bear pit of it at a time when all the action took place in thr nitty gritty between the 65’s. He was skilful of course, but he could back it up too.

I watched all of that first year Kev, I’m not a chap, nor am I lad who dips in and out of Championship. I appreciate some lads rate him, but I’ve never seen it. I can see whats to like about him, but I never saw anything to lift him up onto that top tier. I would agree with Fran too that his retiring at a time when Cork needed him most always struck me as being a bit strange, no matter how many times he rolled out the “burnt out” line.

Like I said a decent hurler, I just never saw the hype.

Burn out wasn’t the reasoning from Brian, that was a media belief. It was to do with not wanting to be treated like a school hurler anymore by the CB. He had in fact drifted away quitely, not wanting to upset too many people. But when he saw what O’ Grady & Donal Og had planned for he rowed back in. O’ Grady was central as well to it.

Also lads, he only missed 2 years, it wasn’t like he missed 4 or 5. 2002 was horrible anyway, and by 2003 we were back in the hunt.

If I amend my post will you two stop speaking shite?

How about you fuck off and we continue talking shite?

Something that is very wrong is A very Fat girl in a mini skirt and tight top, no need for it and would her mates not tell her that she doesn’t look the best in that outfit? :frowning:

I think Brian Corcoran is a cunt. Just my opinion.

I think Joe Soap is a cunt.

Good hurler though.

The worst hurler in recent times to be referred to as a great and to win hoty was Dan Shanahan. He deserved it the year he got it but was playing so far above himself he was always in for an awful fall when it came to a stop.

I wouldn’t call him a great, but to be fair to him it was the only year he was in peak condition. In his younger years he didn’t look after himself enough, in his later years he suffered for that with injuries. But you’d have to be consistent to be considered great, he wasn’t.

No man with dubious facial hair can ever be considered a true great. Was it Claus Dunne who had a beard and glasses on the field?

Personally I think Carey was that little bit better and it’s totally wrong to say he didn’t turn it on when his team was in trouble. Off the top of my head I can think of the following times he dug Kilkenny out of a hole – ’91 v Wexford, the whole of the ’97 championship, semi-finals in ’99, 2000 and 2002. Also wrong to say he didn’t perform in finals – he had good finals in ’91, 92 and ’93 and superb finals in 2000 and 2002. 2002 was his last big year and he was past his best in 2003 and finished by 2004. The two big black marks against him are the finals of ’98 and especially ’99. Shefflin has had bad days too – rubbish in the ’03 and ’04 finals.

Carey obviously played in some good Kilkenny teams but they weren’t as good as the current team. The teams between 94 and 98 were some of the poorest in living memory. They also had to play against far better opposition in Leinster than the current team. There’s something slightly mechanical about Shefflin compared to Carey. Shefflin has a physical advantage that Carey never had and a lot of his game is based around that. Carey never had that physical advantage but was good at winning his own ball despite this, and could cut open a defence better.

In your opinion of course, don’t ya know.

I totally disagree with you saying he was very good in 2000. He came to the fore against Clare alright though, no doubt about that one. The 2000 final cannot be judged, as Offaly didn’t show up whatsoever, bit like Waterford and Limerick in recent years. In finals when really under the cosh it is my opinion DJ went missing. 98, 99, 03, 04. Don’t give this crap about not being his best years either or his size, if he was on the pitch he would be expected to contribute.

I don’t believe Shefflin went missing in '04, he was going well till one particular ball Curran won off him, he faded a little then, but never stopped looking for the ball. Can’t remember his performance in 2003 to be honest, all i remember about that was Comerfords goal, which was completely sickening.

This is argument is about who was the greatest player ever, not the most talented.

Well done kev, there is not too many people who would put Fox in that list. I think he was as good if not better than nicky. Especially as he came back from two serious knee injuries early in his career. His performance in the '91 final was awesome, a one man full forward line considering nicky and the viking were being held together with tape

Working class English scumbags replacing New York with the word “insert any scumbag Spanish island holiday destination” in the song Empire State Of Mind. Fucking scumbags!!! Tactical nuclear strikes are the only way to sort shit out. BOOOOM!