not surprised at that shit happening in UL- it is after all a glorified polytechnic
[quote=“Bandage”]Is ‘ball hop’ the most stupid term ever?
Discuss.[/quote]
No it is a superb term…
[quote=“Bandage”]Is ‘ball hop’ the most stupid term ever?
Discuss.[/quote]
its pretty lame
Has anyone seen the advert on page 6 of this thread? I took a screenshot but have no idea how to post it.
yup, definately
very wrong.
ah its only public admin… he’ll prob do a savage fyp and get a 2.1 all the same …
Puke studies Law.
But I let on one day that I was doing public admin bandage and some people decide to believe it…Don’t believe everything you read on an internet forum Cailinlochgorman :rolleyes:
EDIT: I have seen the skeleton lay out for his FYP and he hasn’t a hope…Pass degree at the most and daddy will get him a grand handy number I would say…
yeah puke… law. Your are doing Pubic admin or hpss, a bit late in the game now to changing you game. Nothign wrong with either, and you have to commend the idiot for having 100% attendance for those 13 hours a week for 4 years.
Remember some post Puke made a few months ago saying he was doing law. In fairness he talks so much shite that he probably isn’t even in college in the first place.
Quiet true Mac, he probably works in a internet Caf in shannon or something.
When studying Public admin you probably do a module on law and from then on you can claim to have “studied law”. Very useful in pub/internet forum arguments I would imagine.
What is public admin anyway - some sort of glorified arts degree?
It’s what qualifies you to work in the corporation. Or a shop.
I thought a leaving cert qualified you to work in either of those? Are things different out wesht?
The Leaving Cert is worth more than a public admin degree.
Thought as much. Sounds like one of those degrees to keep lads off the streets and give them a slip of paper so they can tick the “third level” box on application forms.
From UL’s website…
Public Administration (FT/PT) Grad Dip, MA
Application Deadline: Second Friday in June
Introduction
Both programmes of study provide an opportunity to acquire an advanced knowledge of public administration, public management and comparative public policy.
Objectives
Both programmes are designed to:
provide - by means of compulsory core modules - a general and subject-based knowledge of the major themes and issues associated with the analysis and evaluation of national and European public administration, management and policy making
provide - by means of elective option modules - specialist and detailed subject-based knowledge relating to specific aspects of national and European politics and policy
Additionally, the MPA programme is intended to:
provide both theoretical and practical research training through the compulsory research methods module and the submission of a supervised research project in the form of the dissertation.
Programme Content
Students following the MPA or the Postgraduate Diploma must successfully complete six taught modules. The selection of core and elective modules will be determined according to the programme of study. In addition, MPA students must complete an individual research project in the form of a written dissertation. Students following either programme may opt for full or part-time studies.
Semester 1 Core modules:
Public Policy: Theory and Method,
Comparative Public Administration,
Research Methods (MPA only).
Elective module for Graduate Diploma Students:
The Politics of European Integration and Research Methods
Semester 2 Core modules:
Issuses in International Public Policy and / or Partnership and Governance
Elective modules:
Central and Eastern Europe: continuity and change
Economic policies of the European Union
External relations of the European Union
International Organization
Researching Health and Illness
Issues in International Development
Political Reconciliation in the aftermath of conflict.
Careers
These programmes are designed to attract students from two distinct yet complementary areas: Professionals from the public sector and related areas, aiming to up-skill/ augment their professional expertise with a postgraduate qualification; and Recent graduates, seeking a postgraduate qualification to develop either their career or research potentials.
Entrance Requirements
Graduate Diploma in Public Administration
Applicants should normally be holders of a primary degree in Public Administration or in a cognate discipline or hold an approved equivalent qualification. Applicants without the above but who have substantial and relevant professional experience may also be considered for admission in accordance with university regulations.
Masters in Public Administration
The graduate diploma is primarily designed for professionals working in the public sector who wish to upskill or return to study. Applicants should normally be the holders of a primary degree with first or second class honours in Public Administration or in a cognate discipline or an approved equivalent qualification.
Students registered for the Graduate Diploma in Public Administration who attain the standard of second class honours grade one and who have elected to take the prescribed module in research methodology may, on the submission of an appropriate research proposal, be permitted to transfer to the MPA register at the discretion of the Course Board and with the approval of the Assistant Dean - Research.
Contact Details
Course Director: Dr Maura Adshead
Department of Politics and Public Administration
Think thats the masters Locke, am sure there’s an undergrad thats more simplified.