@carryharry would know more but its actually not a bad point, loathe as I am for lads to leave their own club. In South Tipp anyway Junior B is a complete afterthought with the scheduling of games being terrible. The West board seems to be decent though so not sure what the story is there. It’s not like he’s transferring to a top team either. Boherlahan are an average at best intermediate (junior now basically) team.
Not sure how far off junior A level Rosegreen are though.
At their best in mid 2010’s they were winning or contesting Junior B west finals.
Beaten in a Co final by Killenaule.
Even with a better panel back then they were never Junior A standard.
I’ve no strong opinion on the 2 lads moving on tbh, it’s the fact a family is being thrown into turmoil over it now which is unsatisfactory.
Imo, it’s the Association that’s leaves these issues fester with their lax views on transfers in general.
Rosegreen lost another promising player to Boherlahon a few years ago too.
I say fair play to them for taking a stand this time. If they didn’t they may as well fold up.
What’s the point in having lads volunteering their time, if anyone that’s any good walks away to a neighbouring club once they reach 18-21.
No, tbf that chap transferring originally from Boherlahan made his transfer back okay imo.
Actual playing numbers & the inevitable drop off of lads as they mature is the real problem for Rosegreen.
Rosegreen is in the same parish as Cashel so players can transfer into there as they like. Raymie Ryan is a Rosegreen man afaik. That’s always crippled them and still does.
If you added up the young lads from Rosegreen currently playing with Cashel, the young lads they have plus the players Gone/attempting to go there is definitely the potential for them to get up Junior A in the next decade.
You have to remember they are joined at underage with Rockwell Rovers so that idea is weak imo.
They’ll never have the numbers alone unfortunately.
Is the son of a former multiple All Ireland medalist still playing with them?
He’s back playing with James Stephens.
Ye’ll always have the memories lads
Might be a long time before we are climbing the steps of the Hogan Stand again. Anyway this man will die happy knowing he has seen 17 of them.
That’s what I said sure, at least ye’ll all have the memories anyway, which is lovely.
Good to see Hogan and the boy Callanan start. He’ll bring the razzmatazz.
What we really need are two midfielders that are just able to catch a 30 or 40 yard stick pass from the full back line and then just pop off a hand pass to Ronan Maher and the boys at half back coming off the shoulder to ping lovely ball into the “Snipers in Cooper Helmets” inside. Breen and Flynn aren’t able. Ultimately I think Seamus Kennedy and Noel McGrath might be able to fulfill this role.
Good to see starts for Brian Mc, Connolly and Cadell.
Bonner Maher on the bench
Robert Byrne still knows where the bodies are buried.