Tipperary GAA 2023

League maybe but not in championship. Their time is run for that. Too many players gone past their peak.

Quigley got fair little air time for a fella who played every game last year.

It will be Kiladangan v the World this year in the Tipperary SHC.

He got little game time for the same reason Jody Grace got little game time.

None of the three mentioned good enough to be honest

Quigley got injured vs Clare last year above in Thurles. Hasnt looked right since. Writing was on the wall when he couldnt break into side with Morgan and Barrett out and Mikey Breen been tried in Full Back. Where do you go from there like.

I thought he was of Kildangan’s better players in last years County Final’s.

Supposedly had a nightmare in the Dillon Quirke Foundation game though.

I remember seeing him playing a club match 3 yrs ago, he got the absolute run around from a player that never even touched the ball, he got dragged everywhere around the field and left the whole inside line wide open, only for the opposition corner forwards not having a hand to wipe their hole on the day, they’d have been beaten out the gate.

He made a howler in that game that was pure school boy stuff. Ran out anticipating a low ball into the corner only for the ball to be played over the top leaving the forward in splendid isolation. I’d say Liam Cahill thought to himself “I cant be looking at that”.

I saw JF striking frees off both sides for Nenagh CBS.

Richie Hogan used do the same until he was about 16.

Rónan Maher strikes sidelines off his right side and frees off his left side. Jackie Tyrrell was the opposite way round.

Tony Kelly and Conor McDonald both experimented with taking frees off both sides.

I think he’s farming? As my auld lad would say, the inter county world isn’t really made for farmers anymore. They’re few and far between. Used be grand for the S&C until there was actual S&C. No disrespect to the chap, but when I saw him starting a number of championship games last year, I knew we were at a very low ebb.

The much maligned Kildangan produced two farmers to be part of the Tipp panel in recent years.

Is Willie Connors gone off Tipp panel?

Another one on the injury list

The best exponents of a sideline cut are nearly always hit it off their right (or their left when they are LHOT). Have there been any effective sideline cut takers going the other way? (i.e backhand)

Mark Coleman and Ger Farragher are two that stand out. Tony Kelly in recent years.

Fintan Burke has scored sidelines off both sides although his LHOT.

Did Neville he get much game time at all?

Jerry was an odd addition in first place I thought.

Quigley seems to be rated alright so surprised he was dispatched this early

Neville played a couple of Munster League games and the Dillon Quirke match.

He also done alright in a challenge v Cork last week but maybe ‘alright’ doesnt cut it with Cahill.

With all the injuries, I’m surprised there was a cull done at all being honest.

The answer by @endakenny is excellent. There have been, of course, plenty of excellent backhand-orientated hurlers.

Fintan Burke writes with his right hand.

TJ Reid and Aidan McCarthy are two examples of a righthanded player hurling lhot and striking frees off their forehand side.

Brian Concannon, John Conlon, Darren Morrissey, Eoin Reid and Richie Reid are examples of a lefthanded player hurling rhot and striking frees off their backhand side. Not 100% on BC as regards frees.

Was not Clare’s Mick Moroney, a great sideline cut specialist in the 1970s, a backhander?

There’s no way Tipp lads would have not had the ham sandwiches and tae out of the boot of the car. Totally unrealistic