Makes it a lot easier when your teams dont win matches thats for sure.
I proposed something similar. The equivalent to the old intermediate championship. Let it be made up of lads on the age of under 20s and the back half of the senior panel of the established Liam Mccarthy teams and let the Joe Mc sides play as strong as teams as they want for the month of June.
Would be far more benefit and indicative than preseason matches on shit pitches.
Clubs wont be having that.
Why was the inter-county intermediate championship got rid of? Was it cost cutting?
It was a grand way for ex minor/under 20 players to stay in the inter-county frame, especially for lads from smaller clubs.
What a shower of egotistical cunts.
The startling revelation that Paul Kinnerk has been trawling Premier View to get the inside line on Tipp tactics has shook me.
Main reason was cost cutting. Many Clubs prob happy to see it go as it reduced numbers at training.
It was prob best when it was the old system of intermediate/junior clubs in Tipp, Cork and KK then B teams for the rest.
The beginning of the end was when Tipp started putting out their B team.
The current Limerick team had a load of players who beat Tipp narrowly in a cracking Munster final around 2014/2015 iirc.
Yeah - like to me you treat it as a developmental competition. Straight knockout and maybe have one collective training session a week.
Final could be played as a curtain raiser to A/I semi final.
I think Liam Cahill is correct that PV pod is an annoyance on social media but the reality is thatâs the world we live in.
I donât follow them but a quick scroll of their recent tweets and itâs fair enough analysis.
The PV forum is obviously a big part of Tipperary hurling discourse and I think itâs relatively tame to what it was like 10-15 years ago. Most of the posters are balanced similar to here.
Iâm not into the whole world of Tik Tok but I can imagine thereâs a few accounts on that are not as balanced.
The reality is we have finished the year with a minus 31 score difference, the least of our troubles is social media. Cahill himself must be listening to John Mullane after bringing Mikey breen on in the half forward line yesterday.
Mikey hasnât played in the forwards in a good few years then is parachuted in there yesterday as Limerick are mauling us over.
The optics of that are far more worrying from a Tipperary perspective.
Cahill thinking opposition teams wonât have spotted the tactics his fans are seeing and posting about online is gas. Although to be fair to him Cork were perplexed looking in at a sweeper last year so he might have a point.
Its total deflection from Cahill.
The team/management got it in the neck in 2024 but bounced back strongly last year and rightly got huge praise.
This year was even worse than 2024 so they were always going to get it in the neck again. I havenât seen anything overly personal but he has to take it on the chin that Tipp this year were probably the worst prepared Liam McCarthy team to ever take the field in Championship - narrowly surpassing the Tipp teams of 2022 and 2024.
Its been a completely shambolic season from start to finish going back to a Munster League game v Kerry in Tralee back in January.
I assume Cahillâs response will be to flog whatever is left of the panel and all the young lads in Clonakenny next November but that is not a sustainable solution really.
Iâd have Sheedy back in there in a heartbeat now.
Iâll be the first to admit I didnât appreciate him enough when we had him.
Last year he pulled off a miracle, helped by corks mental collapse in croke park and Clare and limericks self destruction.
Reality is player wise they have the 4th best panel of players in munster. And heâs constantly cautioning about the underage talent - which is a fair point really.
Iâve pointed this out about Cahill a few times. The approach will be the beatings will continue until morale improves.
Cummins?
I just thought it might be a few lads on here and PV who dont like Cummins, but its not. Its really really not.
Who runs the PV Twitter account? Everyone on PV itself is giving out about it with little pushback
Cummins would be my second choice - then Woodlock.
Cummins gets a bad rap but he has his teams well prepared and playing with heart and gusto. There is a baseline his teams do not fall below.
In 2019, Tipp minors finished 4th in the Munster Round Robin with a score difference of -31. I dont think anybody even wanted the U20 gig for 2022 but Cummins got stuck in and made a decent fist of things and they gave creditable performances beating Cork and losing narrowly to Limerick in a Munster Final.
He has topped the round robin in Munster in each of the last 3 years. The ship could easily have sank last year after the first round to Limerick but he turned it around fairly comfortably, and this year he was the width of a post away from doing three in a row in Munster which would have been no mean feat.
He gets filleted more for winning matches than Cahill does for losing games by 10-15 points, but there you go.
Do they even? Waterford probably have better if they could ever get everyone fit. I was agog at some of the Tipp lads reckoning they were more of a threat than Clare, Tipp havenât anything close to the threat and talent that Clare have.
Sheedy almost never sent a team out to get a hiding. He has that knack of making his teams competitive regardless of the circumstances. Cody had it, Alex Ferguson had it, I believe John Kiely has it. Things go against them but they dig in. Worryingly Ben OâConnor may have it too.
Cahill doesnât have it. Pat Ryan didnât. They could have a team flying but they can also produce no-shows
Regardless of what underage success you have, you need a few superstars coming through and I donât think Tipperary have that; a lad who is dominating senior club at 18 or 19. Seamus Callanan, Brendan Maher, Paidi Maher and Noel McGrath all had that x factor from a young age and were destined for greatness. Nowadays, they are producing plenty of nice hurlers who stand out at underage where size and physicality donât carry as much importance, but none at the level of the above quartet. Very balanced teams but without a lightening rod of a forward who you can hang your hat on. I wouldnât put Darragh McCarthy, Oisin OâDonoghue or Stefan Tobin anywhere near the levels of those I named above.
This can be seen in the Tipperary club championship where teams with full of auld lads are getting to the county semi finals and finals. Holycrossâs day will come eventually due to pure resources but again they are not producing anyone that you will say will carry a Tipperary team for 10 + years