Callinan is a top class player.
Your some Tipp man slating one of our players like that… Callinan was well marked but still scored two from play… What do people expect him to do?
The game was lost at midfield where we were totally destroyed by Browne and Ryan. Shane McGrath simply doesn’t have the stamina anymore to play I/C hurling for 70 minutes. Bergin not in it at all. Woodlock was badly missed.
The backs were far too lackadaisical about clearing the dangerzone. Paudie Maher needs to command the square better and forget about the fancy stuff. Taking off Barry was crazy and a poor error of judgement from O’Shea. Was reasonably solid without being spectacular. A fine debut from Barrett, a small positive on a dark day for Tipp hurling.[/QUOTE]
Tipp need to move Padraig Maher back out to half back and Brendan Maher to midfield. It’s not as if Padraig Maher hasn’t struggled to command his square in the past either.
What’s the story with Paul Curran? Conor O’Mahony played full-back in the league, did he not? Tipp need to find a full-back as the resulting positional adjustments are hurting them out the pitch.
Pretty shit reasoning there Fagan.
[QUOTE=“The Scouse Cafu, post: 953227, member: 2660”]Tipp need to move Padraig Maher back out to half back and Brendan Maher to midfield. It’s not as if Padraig Maher hasn’t struggled to command his square in the past either.
What’s the story with Paul Curran? Conor O’Mahony played full-back in the league, did he not? Tipp need to find a full-back as the resulting positional adjustments are hurting them out the pitch.[/QUOTE]
Curran is just back from a a hip injury. Mikey Breen is the obvious man to fill the No. 3 position long term but he has a thumb injury at the moment.
Limerick rolled into town having spent the last 2 months being told they won munster last yr becase p horgan was wrongly sent off and they were w*nkers, tipp are world beaters et etc. Limericks forwards didnt click but grit and fire got em over the edge. Luimneach abu
Your some Tipp man slating one of our players like that… Callinan was well marked but still scored two from play… What do people expect him to do?
The game was lost at midfield where we were totally destroyed by Browne and Ryan. Shane McGrath simply doesn’t have the stamina anymore to play I/C hurling for 70 minutes. Bergin not in it at all. Woodlock was badly missed.
The backs were far too lackadaisical about clearing the dangerzone. Paudie Maher needs to command the square better and forget about the fancy stuff. Taking off Barry was crazy and a poor error of judgement from O’Shea. Was reasonably solid without being spectacular. A fine debut from Barrett, a small positive on a dark day for Tipp hurling.[/QUOTE]
Agree totally with you. I’m trying to think back through the game and every good bit of Tipp play I can think of Callanan was involved. Callanan seems to be the first target of Tipp supporters when things go wrong even though he did more than 4 of the other Tipp forwards.
At midfield Browne and Ryan absolutely lorded it, if Browne could shoot he’d be some player. Bergin was very poor
Why do Limerick lads have to make it so hard on themselves. Clearly the best team in Munster. Maybe thats why Limerick and Wexford lads get on so well.
@caoimhaoin - you’re full of shit mate
[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 952621, member: 273”]Everything points to this. Limerick are not as good as they like to think try are, there has been upheaval and that can have unresolved mental preperation issues no matter what they say in the press. They also, as a county, have a hard luck/poor us attitude. This combined with the aforementioned upheaval presents players with an excuse, a get out, when the shit hits the fan. If they Tipp get on top 2 things might well happen, Tipp who thrive on good starts and really need confidence to play well will go Into over drive whereas a fragile Limerick may collapse. Tipp will go miles ahead, will ease off an Limerick will close the gap to 8-10 points.
Tipp players have been very quite recently, I sense serious focus.[/QUOTE]
I expect the aristocrats of hurling - Wexford, Waterford and Limerick - to be battling it out at the business end of the championship.
The big three, you could say.
Callinan is the least of their problems, lets be honest.
Where da fuck is Ibrox??? Hon Limerick!!
If there was a contender for the most retarded post I’ve ever seen on TFK, this would be close. What match were you watching at all?
[QUOTE=“Mac, post: 953245, member: 109”]Why do Limerick lads have to make it so hard on themselves. Clearly the best team in Munster. Maybe thats why Limerick and Wexford lads get on so well.
@caoimhaoin - you’re full of shit mate[/QUOTE]
Not at all. I got something wrong, Tipp are weaker than we all thought and even given the oppyrtunity to win and close out a game from a strong position they failed.
Limerick showed heart. But heart is often confused with mental strength. Some teams are great at coming back or playing the underdog. But when they are on the other side of the coin they struggle.
All that matters is getting yourself to August and performing in Croke Park.
They are only glorified challenge games till then.
It’s a valid point, a more disciplined team won’t give ye the handy scores.
Tipp backs made it easy for the ref.
How?
Just saw the You Tube of @Watchyourtoes belting out Twist & Shout at Thurles Train Station post-match yesterday.
Well shake it up baaaaaaaaby now!!!
The ref was shite for both teams yesterday, Limerick got a few soft ones first half but were denied some blatant ones…he also booked 5 Limerick players so I don’t know what Fagan is banging on about. We still can’t get good ball into our forwards, just plenty of hail Mary balls, which is infuriating and will be punished another day. I thought Dowling did well when he went in FF. Browne and Ryan have some engines. We rode our luck at times at the back, Richie looked beaten a lot of times but did enough to redeem the situation when Tipp looked to be in for certain goals 2/3 times. Hickey was fantastic second half, himself and Hannon will be much better for that run out the next day. Still lots of work needed but the lads will take great confidence from that. It was the type of game we would have lost narrowly by in the past and bemoaned the world in the aftermath, this team are moving away from that mentality tho.
First time in years we won a big championship game where we quite poor for a lot of it. Still to score 2-18 and win when below par will give the panel a huge amount of belief.
The forwards never really fired. Our corner forwards hardly got a sniff while the likes of Hannon, Downes and Dowling (from play) were only middling. The three of them had their moments but there is a lot more in them. Browne and Ryan were phenomenal in midfield, ran themselves into the ground. Two athletes. Shifting Jim-Bob to midfield was thoroughly vindicated.
Richie always looks like he will get roasted but he never is. Made a couple of sensational last gasp hooks and blocks. Personally I thought Hickey was MOTM but I’ll have to watch it back again. Again his selection was vindicated, I thought it was a massive gamble to throw him in after being out so long but he was excellent.
Anyone else think it was an awful pass from Downes to Dowling for the second goal. Fair play to Dowling for not getting bottled up and finishing it