Tipperary v's Waterford

+1. I have great time for waterford hurling, but Tipp still remain the most talented outside of KK, thus the most likely to stop them.

The way the game was played last sunday, i really hope Tipp go all the way bar a remarkable Cork shock, as i far prefer the way they play hurling in comparison to KK and waterford.

Hurling needs a Cork-Tipp final.:slight_smile:

Waterford are trying to play like Kilkenny, but dont have the rotation and depth of frowards as Kilkenny do to get the scores. Kilkenny can stop teams by playing deep, but all their forwards are capable of huge games. Waterford rely on 2 forwards to perform, and whilst they manage the intensity, I dont think they have the ability to score that much. Tipp and Galway were a good match, because neither have real gameplans or tactics in the kk/cork/waterford moulds, more hurling ability style game plans. altho in saying that, I dont think Cork even know which gameplan they are working to this year, all over the shop with the way they are playing.

Youā€™ve probably hit the nail on the head there. The biggest difference between Kilkenny and other teams is that their forwards are all both excellent ball winners and finishers. In Kelly and Mullane Waterford have two of the latter and in Molumphy, Prendergast, Moran, and Walsh they have the former. They donā€™t really have anyone who is consistently strong at both, but then again barely anyone has. Even Kilkenny forwards whoā€™re more noted for their ball winning are more clinical finishers than the scoring forwards on most teams.

Look at the one chance Comerford got in last yearā€™s final. A perfect finish. Callanan on the other hand had an almost identical chance and couldnā€™t take it, and heā€™s there for finishing and nothing else.

After last Sunday Iā€™d have serious doubts about Tipp having any chance of living with Kilkenny. That game will need to bring them on an awful lot. If Waterford had even two of Tippā€™s forwards I think theyā€™d be perfectly set up to beat Kilkenny, but as you say itā€™s hard to see them getting the scores they need.

Gman - Your right about Cork, went from a superb game plan in the Tipp game, to being completely fucking all over the place now.

Season isnā€™t over yet, but the men getting the top jobs in Cork GAA lately have left a lot to be desired. One very prominent ex football described Conor Counihan as a manager with a junior club attitude recently. Iā€™m beginning to think heā€™s right.

I have more faith in DW though, and Cork will have some plan for KK, just we donā€™t have the hurlers to carry it out.

I expect Tipp to be as fit as Waterford or KK when it comes to it, i think the work rate of Galway, KK, Tipp and waterford is around the same level, its the hurling that seperates them. Tipp are the only ones close to KK in that regard.

Double post

dont want to drag this way off topic, but with the tactics and gameplans of both Cork managers, and what seems to be some flaws, were the players right in their strikes to get these men on board? in saying that, youā€™ll be contesting 2 AI semi finals at worst, so cant be too bad, but is that really down to the managers the players got in, or the players themselves?

someone mentioned as well about how Tony Browne will be dragged around the field and will make the ā€˜old man tiredā€™ as complete shite, and they are spot on. Browne against Cork was by far the best player in Extra time in a replay. that says a lot about his fitness. if his fitness was found wanting, he wouldnt have been able for that. he is a cute hoor too, and doesnt go following his man like a lap dog. he holds his position and its the trackers from half forward / midfield that take up the slack further out the field. almost like zonal marking that Waterford are using.

Tony Browne absolutely lorded it in the second half v Clare when Clancy drifted out the field, Browne just stayed on the 40 and cleared 9 or 10 balls under little or no pressureā€¦

Well the players didnā€™t go after these men in particular in relation to strikes, so that point is redundant. I think its as simple as this, we have excellent footballers being poorly coached with a manager that doesnā€™t have (yet) tactical nous. The hurlers are lacking in ability, but have a better manager. He has got an awful lot right this year, and iā€™d be patient with DW. I think he got thrown off by Davy, but heā€™ll learn.

Counihan hasnā€™t learned at all.

Tipp favourites. Ok, I get that, just about.
But 4/11. Come onā€¦really?
4/5 is the best i would give.

Assuming the prices remain, I will have a cut off that[5/2] and maybe the handicap which will be 3 or 4.

well they went on strike to get men out then I suppose I should have said. maybe the hurlers have a better manager, but was the strike really worth it? last season was a write off, and even if they had played on and god rid of him at the end of the season, would it have made much difference? as for the footballers, same point really. and was Holland that bad of a manager, or was it just the players were upset more over the process rather than the actual manager?

dont see myself how Tipp are that strong favorites either for the game. the handicap could be a good betting tool in this one.

Iā€™d fucking love it if Waterford beat them. The 2008 semi-final was one of the most enjoyable games I ever watched as a neutral and Iā€™d love to see it again.

Itā€™s worth remembering as well the traditional Tipp three year cycle. Babs took charge in '87, nearly got there in '88, and won the All-Ireland in '89. Nicky English took charge in '99, finally got Tipp past Clare in 2000, and won the All-Ireland in '01. This is Sheedyā€™s third year, and he nearly got there last year.

Youā€™re hardly a neutral if you say youā€™d ā€œfucking love to see Waterford beat themā€ albeit youā€™re from klare. Bit of an oxymoron, that statement.

Anyway the odds are a joke and skewed in favour of Tipp.Bookies are rarely wrong but most ordinary punters would view this game as a 50-50 match up.You could argue until the cows come home about the merits of each and the likely victors but to use a boring cliche it will really just come down to who wants it most on the day.Please God let it be Tipp.

By that logic thereā€™s never been a neutral at a Tipp game

Yes the strike was worth it, certainly from the clubs point of view, they have grown to have a stronger voice, although nowhere where we need to be yet, but the structures in Cork are going through a massive overhaul, the benfits locally will be seen within the next year or two, the rest of the country will probably start seeing it over 4-5 years.

The process as you mention was a shambles, but the fact that it was Holland was not making it easier. He isnā€™t at the races for that level at all. heā€™s with a Junior club now with plenty of talent and they arenā€™t going anywhere fast.

It was more about how they were being picked, they have all said the process is better now, if not fool proof. The next challenge now is to get people to broaden their minds on what makes a good manager. He doesnā€™t have to be an ex-star player, something they seem obsessed with. Look at Jack oā€™ Connor. even to have the plan and discipline to implement the plan with the footballers (no matter what the plan is) would have to be seen by now, and it hasnā€™t been on recent evidence. On the footballers though (sorry about thread lads), they played poor teams 2 weeks running, and then went to the place Cork hate most to play, the Gaelic Groundsā€¦nah fuck it iā€™m clutching at straws, we were awful.

Nothing wrong with your logic, but its a pretty common cycle with most successful teams. Remember Cody could have gone twice, yet KK stuck with him and believed in his plan.

No, but Iā€™m sure thereā€™s been plenty of ā€œneutralsā€ from weaker counties watching Tipp games who would like to see their hurling fantasies become reality and see Tipp being beat.Waterford being a weaker county can pull one off for the fraternity if they were to beat Tipp.

With all due respect, ā€˜weakerā€™ or ā€˜strongerā€™ has nothing to do with it. Iā€™m level on senior All-Irelands with most of the Tipp team. People simply donā€™t like Tipp.

[quote=ā€œcaoimhaoin, post: 496275ā€]On the footballers though (sorry about thread lads), they played poor teams 2 weeks running, and then went to the place Cork hate most to play, the Gaelic Groundsā€¦nah fuck it iā€™m clutching at straws, we were awful.

Blow it out your hole you cunt. Weā€™ll hammer them.

To the lads who fancy Tipp - would yez not be worried that a Galway team that has Smyth, Chunky and Tannion marked missing nearly beat them and managed to score 3-16 as well?